Washington Grays

Concert Band

Washington Grays

March

Genre:
Concert March, March
Grade Level:
Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:04:20
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2442
Release Date:
2005

Info

Claudio S. Grafulla (1810-1880) was born on Menorca, one of the Balearic Islands located in the Mediterranean Sea, and came to the United States when he was 28 years old. There he joined the ranks of the New York Lothiers Brass Band which was later attached to the 7th Regiment New York National Guard. During that period he became acclaimed as a composer, arranger and conductor, as the press in both New York and Washington often covered his musical activities and was full of praise. The climax of his concert activities was an appearance before President Lincoln in 1864. Apart from his own contributions to the literature for wind band, his creative activities focused on arrangements of composers like Rossini, Balfe, von Suppè and others who were extremely popular at that time. Period sources report that Grafulla who was not married, was an unassumingly quiet man. His life and activities exclusively centered on his music. In the course of time Grafulla’s name fell into oblivion, but he has been duly reappraised only recently on the basis of new research in the field of wind music.

The march “Washington Grays” goes back to the year 1861 and was dedicated to the Washington regiment of the same name. It is generally regarded as a masterpiece and prototype of the period concert march. In terms of musical style, it is largely influenced by the Italian march tradition, although some German traits are noticeable too. In addition, the march excels in a brilliant balance between melody and technique.

This fine march has long belonged to the international core repertory of marches of great appeal, while in Central Europe it has remained virtually unknown. Consequently Siegfried Rundel’s new arrangement makes available for bands in our region one of the most thrilling marches ever written.

You might like to consider ...

60,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Shigeru Sugawara / Akira Takeda CD (Compact Disc)

Viva Musica!

MVSR047-2

Japan Ground Self Defense Force Central Band (GSDF) Ruslan & Ludmilla (Overture) - Largo (from New World Symphony) - Fanfare and Dance - Mazury Rhapsody - The Thunderer - Lawrence of Arabia - Hands Across The Sea - Montanas del Fuego ...

Info
Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Akira Takeda / Ray E. Cramer DVD-Video

Feste Romane

T9545

Maestro Ray Cramer joins with Japan’s premier military wind orchestra for a unique presentation of great music and international camaraderie. Recorded in the magnificent Tokyo Art Space, this live presentation is dramatically captured in ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

During his musical career, John Philip Sousa referred to the march “Semper Fidelis”, which he had composed in 1888 (probably during summer) as the official march of the United States Marine Corps. He also labeled the piece his “best march”. It has ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

The Washington Post

MVSR2414

In the company history of “The Washington Post“, one of the major American newspapers, the following entry is shown under the year ‘1889’: “On June 15, at an essay awards ceremony on the mall, United States Marine Band leader John Philip Sousa ...

Info

Washington Grays

Blasorchester

Washington Grays

March

Musikrichtung:
Konzertmarsch, Marsch
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:04:20
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2442
Erscheinungsdatum:
2005

Info

Claudio S. Grafulla (1810-1880) wurde auf der Baleareninsel Menorca geboren und kam als 28jähriger Musiker in die Vereinigten Staaten. Dort spielte er zunächst in der Lothiers Brass Band aus New York, die später dem 7. Regiment der New Yorker Nationalgarde als Musik zugeordnet wurde. Während dieser Zeit begann er sich als Komponist, Arrangeur und Dirigent einen Namen zu machen, denn die Presse New Yorks und Washingtons berichtete häufig von seinen vorzüglichen Auftritten. Sein Wirken gipfelte dann im Jahre 1864 in einem Konzert vor Präsident Lincoln. Im Mittelpunkt seines musikalischen Schaffens stand neben eigenen Beiträgen zur Bläserliteratur die Bearbeitung von Werken der damals sehr gefragten Komponisten Rossini, Balfe, von Suppè u.a.m. Über Grafulla, der nicht verheiratet war, wissen zeitgenössische Quellen zu berichten, dass er ein ruhiger Mann gewesen sei, der sich zu keiner Zeit in den Vordergrund drängte. Für ihn war die Musik der ausschließliche Mittelpunkt seines Lebens und Wirkens. Im Laufe der Zeit geriet der Name Grafulla in Vergessenheit und erst auf der Grundlage neuerer Forschungen tritt er wieder in gebührender Weise in Erscheinung.

Der Marsch „Washington Grays“ geht auf das Jahr 1861 zurück und ist dem gleichnamigen, in graue Uniformen gekleideten, Regiment aus Washington, D.C. gewidmet. Er wird als Meisterwerk und Prototyp des Konzertmarsches seiner Zeit gewertet. Die stilistischen Einflüsse aus Italien sowie Anklänge deutscher Tradition sind hier unverkennbar. Darüber hinaus besticht das Werk durch die glänzende Balance zwischen Melodie und technischen Anforderungen.

Mit seinem Arrangement macht Siegfried Rundel der Blasmusik in Mitteleuropa ein Werk bekannt, das schon lange zum internationalen Kernrepertoire der gehobenen Marschliteratur gehört, bei uns allerdings so gut wie unbekannt geblieben ist.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

60,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Shigeru Sugawara / Akira Takeda CD (Compact Disc)

Viva Musica!

MVSR047-2

Japan Ground Self Defense Force Central Band (GSDF) Staabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres Ruslan & Ludmilla (Overture) - Largo (from New World Symphony) - Fanfare and Dance - Mazury Rhapsody - The Thunderer - Lawrence of Arabia - Hands ...

Info
Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Akira Takeda / Ray E. Cramer DVD-Video

Feste Romane

T9545

National Anthem “Kimigayo” / Hiromori Hayashi Washington Grays / Claudio S. Grafulla (arr. Siegfried Rundel) Marche aux Flambeaux No.3 / Giacomo Meyerbeer (arr. Ernest Andre) Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral from “Lohengrin” / Richard ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

Im Laufe seines musikalischen Werdeganges hat John Philip Sousa den Marsch "Semper Fidelis“, der im Jahre 1888 (vermutlich im Sommer) von ihm komponiert wurde, als offiziellen Marsch des Korps Marineinfanterie der Vereinigten Staaten ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

The Washington Post

MVSR2414

In der Firmengeschichte der „Washington Post“, einer der großen amerikanischen Zeitungen, ist unter dem Jahr ‘1889’ folgender kurze Eintrag enthalten: „Anlässlich der Preisverleihung eines Aufsatzwettbewerbs am 15. Juni stellte John Philip Sousa, ...

Info