Tiger Rag

Concert Band

Tiger Rag

Dixieland

Arranger:
Genre:
Swing, Dixieland, Ragtime
Grade Level:
Unterstufe
Performance time:
00:01:24
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR7036
Release Date:
2005

Info

The ragtime or simply rag originated in the United States towards the end of the 19th century. At first it was developed as an especial piano style by Afro-American pianists. However, its popularity rapidly called for arrangements featuring other instruments and groups, and in particular, it was adopted by the Dixieland formations that had come into existence in New Orleans. The character of the ragtime mostly is gay and often quite witty too. Dick Ravenal arranged the famous TIGER RAG for youth wind orchestras. It was of prime importance to the composer to maintain the true character of the ragtime and to keep the humorous sections in an effective way in this simplified version too. Please pay attention to the tenor part from measure 50 onward – as you may imitate the “tiger” there. Have a lot of fun when performing this piece!

eXplora Grade 2
eXplora Disc 07

You might like to consider ...

46,50 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

EXPLORA Orchester CD (Compact Disc)

eXplora disc 07

MVSR07CDEX

Zauberland - Rock My Soul - Little Girl from Trinidad - Sarabanda - Tiger ...

Info
Kurt Gäble Concert Band

Zauberland

MVSR7044

A beautiful Sunday morning inspired Kurt Gäble to compose his ENCHANTED REALM. Quietness but also certain changes depict his impression of that daybreak. The rhythmically puissant introduction flows into the quiet theme that characterizes the ...

Info
Dick Ravenal Concert Band

Rock My Soul

MVSR7043

ROCK MY SOUL is a gospel song. Its title must not be construed in a verbatim manner, as it rather deals with touching one’s soul. The term “gospel” probably is a contraction of either “good spell” or “God ...

Info
Luigi di Ghisallo Concert Band

Little Girl from Trinidad

MVSR7015

The Caribbean is the source of an abundance of beautiful and especially rhythmic music. People living there experience and practice dancing and motion in a very natural way. If somebody starts to beat a rhythm on a drum, the others cannot keep still. ...

Info
Georg Friedrich Händel / Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Sarabanda

MVSR7028

The saraband is a slow dance of Spanish origin, which is to be danced in a stately and graceful manner. Who thinks the spirited Spaniards to simply go for fast music and the flamenco, should not forget that they are also very proud people. This ...

Info
Dick Ravenal / Traditional / Dick Ravenal Corps (Church) Band

Tiger Rag
-Posaunenchor-

MVSR2474PO

"Tiger Rag" is a Dixieland classic. There are several stories about its origin, but "The Original Dixieland Jass Band" was the first group to record it in 1917. Dick Ravenal tamed the tiger and created an easily playable arrangement ...

Info

Tiger Rag

Blasorchester

Tiger Rag

Dixieland

Arrangeur:
Musikrichtung:
Swing, Dixieland, Ragtime
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Unterstufe
Spielzeit:
00:01:24
Serientitel:
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR7036
Erscheinungsdatum:
2005

Info

Der Ragtime, kurz Rag genannt, entstand Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts in den USA. Er wurde zuerst nur als Klavierstil von afro-amerikanischen Pianisten entwickelt. Durch seine Popularität jedoch gab es sehr schnell auch Bearbeitungen für andere Instrumente und Besetzungen, besonders auch für die in New Orleans entstandenen Dixieland-Formationen. Die Musik der Ragtimes ist meist sehr heiter und oft auch ziemlich witzig. Dick Ravenal hat den berühmten "Tiger Rag" speziell für Jugendorchester arrangiert. Ihm war es wichtig, den Charakter des Ragtime beizubehalten und die humorvollen Passagen des Originals auch in einer einfacheren Version effektvoll zu gestalten. Achten Sie auf die Tenorstimme ab Takt 50 - hier darf der "Tiger" imitiert werden. Viel Vergnügen bei den Aufführungen!

eXplora Grade 2
eXplora Disc 07

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

46,50 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

EXPLORA Orchester CD (Compact Disc)

eXplora disc 07

MVSR07CDEX

Zauberland - Rock My Soul - Little Girl from Trinidad - Sarabanda - Tiger ...

Info
Kurt Gäble Blasorchester

Zauberland

MVSR7044

Ein schöner Sonntagmorgen inspirierte Kurt Gäble zu seiner Komposition ZAUBERLAND. Die Ruhe aber auch eine gewisse Abwechslung schildern seine Eindrücke von diesem Tagesbeginn. Die rhythmisch kräftige Einleitung mündet in das ...

Info
Dick Ravenal Blasorchester

Rock My Soul

MVSR7043

Das Lied ROCK MY SOUL gehört zu den Gospelsongs. Der Titel soll hier nicht wörtlich übersetzt werden, er hat vielmehr mit der Berührung der Seele zu tun. Die Bezeichnung "Gospel" ist vermutlich eine Zusammensetzung der ...

Info
Luigi di Ghisallo Blasorchester

Little Girl from Trinidad

MVSR7015

Aus der Karibik kommt sehr viel schöne und besonders auch rhythmische Musik. Die Menschen dort erleben und praktizieren Tanz und Bewegung auf sehr natürliche Art und Weise. Wenn jemand anfängt zu trommeln, können die anderen nicht ...

Info
Georg Friedrich Händel / Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Sarabanda

MVSR7028

Die Sarabande ist ein langsamer Tanz spanischer Herkunft, der mit feierlich-getragenem Schritt getanzt werden soll. Wer meint, dass die temperamentvollen Spanier eher schnelle Musik und den Flamenco lieben, der soll nicht vergessen, dass sie auch ...

Info
Dick Ravenal / Traditional / Dick Ravenal Posaunenchor

Tiger Rag
-Posaunenchor-

MVSR2474PO

"Tiger Rag" ist ein echter Dixieland-Klassiker. Seine genaue Herkunft ist ungewiss, aber die „Original Dixieland Jass Band“ hat ihn 1917 als erste Band aufgenommen. Dick Ravenal hat den Tiger gezähmt und eine leicht spielbare ...

Info