Theatre Music

Concert Band

Theatre Music

Composer:
Genre:
Concert Piece
Grade Level:
Höchststufe
Performance time:
00:11:11
Publisher:
Studio Music
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
ST004
Release Date:
1989

Info

This concert piece in 3 Movements was commissioned by the "Musikpreis Grenchen" (a Swiss concert band festival) a test piece for their 1990 Festival.

1. Overture
The Overture opens with a fanfare from the brass, which releases a flurry of notes from the woodwinds. Clarinets, horns and saxophones introduce the first subject, a perky tune that is thrown around various sections of the band until a second march-like theme takes over. The second subject proper, a smooth, cantabile tune on horns and saxes, leads to an echo of the opening. All the material is reprised before the movement ends as it opened.

2. Entr’acte
This is a slow, tender movement with solos for flute and alto saxophone and then oboe and tenor saxophone. A trumpet introduces a second theme and again this is played by the full band and leads to a recapitulation of the opening tune before the movement ends quietly and peacefully.

3. Finale
A headlong gallop of a movement, which starts with a robust tune from the middle of the band, which is then played in canon by the full band. A quiet martial episode leads to a flowing central tune which crescendos to a climax before giving way to a reprise of the opening tune. The movement ends with a brief reference to the Overture.

You might like to consider ...

190,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra / Jan de Haan CD (Compact Disc)

Spartacus

T9291

European Wind Circle Vol.1 Ouverture 2000 - El Golpe Fatal - A Norwegian Sea-Picture - Theatre Music - Interlude for Band - ...

Info
James Barnes Concert Band

Alpine Holiday

MVSR2675

Commissioned by the “Bernischer Kantonal-Musikverband“ (Berne County Band Music Association, Switzerland) as the required test piece for their 2014 wind band competition, Alpine Holiday is a large overture for wind orchestra. The work ...

Info
Alfred Reed Concert Band

Curtain Up!

HL20823251

From the renowned composer Alfred Reed comes this unique musical panorama. An original work, it explores the theater overture style as one of the important musical styles to emerge in the 20th century. Written for the Wheaton, Illinois Municipal ...

Info
John Barnes Chance Concert Band

Incantation and Dance

BHI6100044

This work consists of two sections, highly contrasted in both length and nature. The Incantation is a short, mournful legato melody. It is full of mystery and expectation, wandering, unstable, and without tonality. Beginning on a misterioso flute ...

Info

Theatre Music

Blasorchester

Theatre Music

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Höchststufe
Spielzeit:
00:11:11
Verlag:
Studio Music
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
ST004
Erscheinungsdatum:
1989

Info

Dieses Konzertwerk in 3 Sätzen war eine Auftragskomposition für den "Musikpreis Grenchen", ein Schweizer Blasorchester Festival, als Wettbewerbsstück für die Duchführung im Jahr 1990.

1. Overture
Die Ouvertüre beginnt mit einer Fanfare der Blechläser, die ein wahres Gestöber an Noten der Holzbläser auslöst. Klarinetten, Hörner und Saxophone stellen das erste Thema vor , eine kecke Melodie, die zwischen den verschiedenen Registern des Orchester hin und her geworfen wird, bevor schließlich ein eine marsch-ähnliche Melodie erklingt. Das zweite Thema ist eine liebliche, gesangliche Melodie der Hörner und Saxophone und führt zu einem Echo der Anfangsfanfare. Das musikalische Musik durchläuft eine Reprise, bevor der Satz schließlich endet wie er begonnen hat.

2. Entr’acte
Dieser langsame, zarte Satz weist Soli für Flöte und Alt-Saxophon sowie Oboe und Tenor-Saxophon auf. Eine Trompete stellt das zweite Thema vor, das vom gesamten Orchester übernommen wird. Nach einer Reprise der eröffnenden Melodie endet der Satz schließlich ruhig und friedlich.

3. Finale
Dieser Satz ist ein turbulenter Galopp, der mit einer kraftvollen Melodie aus der Mitte des Orchester beginnt, die anschließend als Kanon vom ganzen Orchester übernommen wird. Eine ruhiger, martialischer Abschnitt führt uns zu dem fließenden Hauptthema, dass sich zu einem markanten Höhepunkt steigert und dann Platz macht für eine Wiederholung des Anfangs. Der Satz endet mit einer kurzen Referenz an den ersten Satz, die Ouvertüre.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

190,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra / Jan de Haan CD (Compact Disc)

Spartacus

T9291

European Wind Circle Vol.1 Ouverture 2000 - El Golpe Fatal - A Norwegian Sea-Picture - Theatre Music - Interlude for Band - ...

Info
James Barnes Blasorchester

Alpine Holiday

MVSR2675

„Alpine Holiday“ ist eine große Ouvertüre für Blasorchester, die vom Bernischen Kantonal-Musikverband (Schweiz) als Aufgabestück 1.Klasse für den Wettbewerb im Jahr 2014 in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Die Komposition ...

Info
Alfred Reed Blasorchester

Curtain Up!

HL20823251

Alfred Reed schrieb "Curtain Up!" (Vorhang auf!) zum 60jähigen Jubiläum der "Wheaton, Illinois Municipal Band". Reed übernimmt hier den Stil der Theater Ouvertüre, der sich im 20. Jahrhundert zu einem einer der wichtigsten Musikstile ...

Info
John Barnes Chance Blasorchester

Incantation and Dance

BHI6100044

Dieses Werk besteht aus zwei Teilen, die sich stark in Länge und Anmutung unterscheiden. "Incantation" (Beschwörungsformel) ist eine kurze, schwermütige Melodie, die sehr geheimnisvoll und erwartungsvoll wirkt. Sie scheint ...

Info