The Washington Post

Concert Band

The Washington Post

Genre:
Concert March, March
Grade Level:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:04:19
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2414
Release Date:
2004

Info

In the company history of “The Washington Post“, one of the major American newspapers, the following entry is shown under the year ‘1889’: “On June 15, at an essay awards ceremony on the mall, United States Marine Band leader John Philip Sousa introduced ‘The Washington Post March’, which he wrote especially for the newspaper. It became a popular hit and is still a marching band favourite today.” This short note in a way describes the rise of John Philip Sousa to a leading military bandmaster and prominent composer in the United States. While on tour in St. Louis with the variety show “Our Flirtations”, for which he had composed the music, Sousa learned that he was considered as leader of the United States Marine Band in Washington, D.C. His father Antonio accepted the position by proxy, as his son had difficulties to be released from the show. Finally, on October 1, 1880, John Philip Sousa became the fourteenth leader of this fine band and the first to be born in America. His predecessor, Louis Schneider, had been discharged as “unfit for duty”. Taking over the baton of the United States Marine Band meant for Sousa conducting a military band for the first time, and he consequently approached music in an essentially different way than his predecessors. He augmented, improved and replaced the band’s library, and also changed its instrumentation. In the years to come Sousa undertook considerable efforts to ameliorate the musical standards of the band. Rehearsals became very strict with him, and less capable bandsmen gradually left the band. As a reformer, Sousa was exceptionally successful in another important realm too, as his concerts began to attract discriminating audiences in place of those unsophisticated crowds who had attended concerts previously. As a marching unit, the United States Marine Band’s reputation spread rapidly. Its services hence were much in demand. In those years John Philip Sousa also composed his first operettas. The first one of his early stage productions, however, “The Smugglers”, was abandoned after a short run only. As leader of the Marine Band John Philip Sousa largely contributed to the band’s repertoire by writing a number of fine marches. The first one to really establish his reputation among military bands was “The Gladiator”, written in 1886. Finally some time between 1889 and 1891 a “March King” was born, probably shortly after the event taking place in Washington in 1889 where “The Washington Post” was performed for the first time. In addition, “The Washington Post” became widely known at that time, as it especially suited the “Two Step”, a popular new dance. Sousa’s march was being used for dancing all over the world, and it was even published in non-authorized editions in various countries under fancy titles.

You might like to consider ...

60,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Toyokazu Nonaka / Shigeru Sugawara CD (Compact Disc)

Olympus

MVSR044-2

Japan Ground Self Defense Force Central Band (GSDF) Olympus Fanfare - Fra Diavolo - Coronation March (Krönungsmarsch) - Sleeping Beauty Waltz (Dornröschen-Walzer) - Interludia - Elisabeth Serenade - Adebars Reise (Der Flug der Störche) - ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Hands Across The Sea

MVSR2468

In 1899 a march by John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) had its premiere in the Philadelphia Academy of Music, which later was to become one of his greatest successes: “Hands Across The Sea“. In an account, he gave in the "Great Lakes Recruit" of ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

The Thunderer

MVSR2437

In 1889 John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) was thirty-five years old and had already been director of the renowned Washington-based ‘Marine Band’ for nine years. On the basis of his activities with this wind orchestra he had become known and as a ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

During his musical career, John Philip Sousa referred to the march “Semper Fidelis”, which he had composed in 1888 (probably during summer) as the official march of the United States Marine Corps. He also labeled the piece his “best march”. It has ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Jay Bocook Concert Band

Washington Post March

HL04002891

This lively 6/8 march from John Philip Sousa remains one of his best-known and most performed marches. While keeping the essence of the original intact, Jay Bocook does a masterful job of adjusting the instrumentation and ranges to be playable by ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Eric Osterling Concert Band

The Washington Post March

HL22623030

One of Sousa's best known marches is available for younger bands, thanks to the careful work of arranger Eric Osterling. Basic 1 Band Series Grade ...

Info

The Washington Post

Blasorchester

The Washington Post

Musikrichtung:
Konzertmarsch, Marsch
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:04:19
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2414
Erscheinungsdatum:
2004

Info

In der Firmengeschichte der „Washington Post“, einer der großen amerikanischen Zeitungen, ist unter dem Jahr ‘1889’ folgender kurze Eintrag enthalten: „Anlässlich der Preisverleihung eines Aufsatzwettbewerbs am 15. Juni stellte John Philip Sousa, Leiter des Musikkorps der Marineinfanterie der Vereinigten Staaten, den Marsch 'The Washington Post’ vor, den er eigens für die Zeitung geschrieben hatte. Der Marsch wurden zu einem volkstümlichen Erfolg und ist heute noch einer der beliebtesten Märsche.“ Hinter dieser Notiz verbirgt sich der Aufstieg von John Philip Sousa zu einem der herausragenden Militärkapellmeister und Komponisten in den Vereinigten Staaten. Als sich Sousa mit dem Varieté „Our Flirtations“ auf Tournee in St. Louis befand, erfuhr er, dass er als Leiter des Musikkorps der Marineinfanterie in Washington in Betracht gezogen wurde. Sein Vater Antonio nahm die Berufung anstelle seines Sohnes an, denn dieser hatte Schwierigkeiten, sich aus seinem Vertrag zu lösen. Sousa wurde schließlich am 1.Oktober 1880 zum 14. Leiter des Musikkorps der amerikanischen Marineinfanterie ernannt und der erste zudem, der in den Vereinigten Staaten geboren wurde. Sein Vorgänger Louis Schneider war wegen Dienstunfähigkeit entlassen worden. Die Übernahme dieser Aufgabe bedeutete für Sousa, dass er zum ersten Mal an der Spitze eines Militärmusikkorps stand und er setzte sich mit musikalischen Fragen folglich in anderer Weise auseinander wie dies seine Vorgänger getan hatten. Er erweiterte und verbesserte den Notenbestand des Musikkorps, aus dem allerdings auch viele Ausgaben entfernt wurde. Darüber hinaus veränderte er die instrumentale Zusammensetzung seines Musikkorps. In den kommenden Jahren unternahm Sousa große Anstrengungen, um die musikalische Leistungsfähigkeit des Musikkorps zu verbessern. Unter ihm wurden die Proben strikt und mit dem nötigen Ernst durchgeführt, so dass musikalisch schwächere Angehörige des Musikkorps dieses nach und nach verließen. Als Reformer war Sousa auch auf einem anderen wichtigen Gebiet sehr erfolgreich, denn zunehmend zog er Konzertbesucher mit kritischem Urteilvermögen an anstelle der einfachen Besucher, die man früher bei solchen Ereignissen überwiegend antreffen konnte. Auch der Ruf der Marine Band als einer militärischen Einheit, die sich auf das Marschieren verstand, verbreitete sich schnell, so dass das Musikkorps sehr gefragt war. In jenen Jahren entstanden auch Sousas erste Operetten. Die erste dieser frühen Produktionen, „Die Schmuggler“, stand allerdings nur kurze Zeit auf dem Spielplan. Als Leiter des Musikkorps der Marineinfanterie vergrößerte John Philip Sousa dessen Repertoire durch eine Anzahl schneidiger Märsche. Der Marsch allerdings, der Sousas Ruf in der Militärmusik tatsächlich festigte, war der im Jahre 1886 geschriebene „The Gladiator“. Schließlich wurde er zwischen 1889 und 1891 zum „Marschkönig“ - vermutlich kurze Zeit nach dem Ereignis, das in Washington im Jahre 1889 stattfand, an dem „The Washington Post“ zum ersten Male aufgeführt wurde. Darüber hinaus wurde „The Washington Post“ schnell allgemein bekannt, da sich der Marsch besonders für den „Two Step“ eignete, einem damals sehr beliebten Modetanz. Sousas Marsch wurde so überall auf der Welt als Tanz genutzt und sogar in verschiedenen Ländern als illegale Ausgabe unter Fantasietiteln herausgebracht.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

60,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Stabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres / Toyokazu Nonaka / Shigeru Sugawara CD (Compact Disc)

Olympus

MVSR044-2

Japan Ground Self Defense Force Central Band (GSDF) Staabsmusikkorps des Japanischen Heeres Olympus Fanfare - Fra Diavolo - Coronation March (Krönungsmarsch) - Sleeping Beauty Waltz (Dornröschen-Walzer) - Interludia - Elisabeth Serenade - ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Hands Across The Sea

MVSR2468

Im Jahre 1899 erklang in der Musikakademie von Philadelphia zum ersten Mal ein Marsch von John Philip Sousa (1854-1932), der zu einem seiner großen Erfolge werden sollte: „Hands Across The Sea“ („Ein Handschlag über die ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

The Thunderer

MVSR2437

Im Jahre 1889 war John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) 35 Jahre alt und schon seit neun Jahren der Leiter der renommierten ‘Marine Band’ in Washington. Durch seine Arbeit mit diesem Orchester hatte er sich als hervorragender Dirigent und Komponist ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

Im Laufe seines musikalischen Werdeganges hat John Philip Sousa den Marsch "Semper Fidelis“, der im Jahre 1888 (vermutlich im Sommer) von ihm komponiert wurde, als offiziellen Marsch des Korps Marineinfanterie der Vereinigten Staaten ...

Info