The Gladiator

Concert Band

The Gladiator

Genre:
Concert March, March
Grade Level:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:02:42
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
March / Card Size
Info:
Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR0369
Release Date:
1985

Info

John Philip Sousa was born in Washington in 1854 as son of a Portuguese father and a German mother. Today he is regarded as "King of March" and wrote more that 100 pieces that became standards for bands all over the world. Also he invented the Sousaphone.

"The Gladiator" was written in 1886, when Sousa was leader of the United States Marine Band. He dedicated the piece to the journalist Charles B. Towle. It is said that the title alludes to Towle being a gladiator, who fights with his pen istead of a sword. "The Gladiator" was Sousa's first march, that became really popular.

You might like to consider ...

31,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Gebirgsmusikkorps Garmisch-Partenkirchen / Heeresmusikkorps 300 / Koblenz / Georg Czerner / Heinz-Dieter Paul CD (Compact Disc)

Opening

MVSR013-2

Prelude for Band - Romeo & Julia - Solistenparade - The Gladiator - Launische Klarinetten - Opening - Time to Relax - Sousa-Highlights (Medley) - Herzog von Braunschweig - The Black River (Charleston) - Zwei lustige Vagabunden - 84er ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Hands Across The Sea

MVSR2468

In 1899 a march by John Philip Sousa (1854-1932) had its premiere in the Philadelphia Academy of Music, which later was to become one of his greatest successes: “Hands Across The Sea“. In an account, he gave in the "Great Lakes Recruit" of ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

During his musical career, John Philip Sousa referred to the march “Semper Fidelis”, which he had composed in 1888 (probably during summer) as the official march of the United States Marine Corps. He also labeled the piece his “best march”. It has ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

The Washington Post

MVSR2414

In the company history of “The Washington Post“, one of the major American newspapers, the following entry is shown under the year ‘1889’: “On June 15, at an essay awards ceremony on the mall, United States Marine Band leader John Philip Sousa ...

Info

The Gladiator

Blasorchester

The Gladiator

Musikrichtung:
Konzertmarsch, Marsch
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:02:42
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
Marschformat
Umfang:
Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR0369
Erscheinungsdatum:
1985

Info

John Philip Sousa war Sohn eines Portugiesen und einer Deutschen  und wurde am 6. November 1854 in Washington geboren. Er gilt heute als "König der Marschmusik" und schrieb weit über 100 Kompositionen, die heute zum Standardrepertoire der Blasorchester gehören. Außerdem verdanken wir ihm das Sousaphon.

"The Gladiator" entstand 1886, als Sousa die United States Marine Band leitete. Er widmete den Marsch dem Journalisten Charles B. Towle. Man spekuliert, dass der Titel darauf anspielt, dass Towle ein Gladiator war, der mit dem Stift kämpfte statt mit dem Schwert. "The Gladiator" war Sousas erster Marsch, der große Popularität erreichte.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

31,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Gebirgsmusikkorps Garmisch-Partenkirchen / Heeresmusikkorps 300 / Koblenz / Georg Czerner / Heinz-Dieter Paul CD (Compact Disc)

Opening

MVSR013-2

Prelude for Band - Romeo & Julia - Solistenparade - The Gladiator - Launische Klarinetten - Opening - Time to Relax - Sousa-Highlights (Medley) - Herzog von Braunschweig - The Black River (Charleston) - Zwei lustige Vagabunden - 84er ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Hands Across The Sea

MVSR2468

Im Jahre 1899 erklang in der Musikakademie von Philadelphia zum ersten Mal ein Marsch von John Philip Sousa (1854-1932), der zu einem seiner großen Erfolge werden sollte: „Hands Across The Sea“ („Ein Handschlag über die ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Semper Fidelis

MVSR2402

Im Laufe seines musikalischen Werdeganges hat John Philip Sousa den Marsch "Semper Fidelis“, der im Jahre 1888 (vermutlich im Sommer) von ihm komponiert wurde, als offiziellen Marsch des Korps Marineinfanterie der Vereinigten Staaten ...

Info
John Philip Sousa / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

The Washington Post

MVSR2414

In der Firmengeschichte der „Washington Post“, einer der großen amerikanischen Zeitungen, ist unter dem Jahr ‘1889’ folgender kurze Eintrag enthalten: „Anlässlich der Preisverleihung eines Aufsatzwettbewerbs am 15. Juni stellte John Philip Sousa, ...

Info