Sax, Wind & Funk

Concert Band

Sax, Wind & Funk
Medley

for Saxophone Section
and Wind Band

Genre:
Solo
Grade Level:
Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:05:30
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR3209
Release Date:
2019

Info

1. September
2. Spinning Wheel
3. Birdland


"Earth, Wind & Fire", "Blood, Sweat & Tears" and "Weather Report" - these three jazz rock bands celebrated their greatest successes in the 1970s, and each of them had one big hit, which every listener still recognizes today. The three funk-infused super hits - namely "September", "Spinning Wheel" and "Birdland" - are combined here in an energetic medley. (The title of the medley, "Sax, Wind & Funk", of course, refers to the first two mentioned band names.)

The saxophone stands out as the most used wind instrument in rock and pop music, which is normally dominated by vocals and electronics. In jazz, on the other hand, the saxophone is considered an identification symbol par excellence. So the arranger Stefan Schwalgin considered it appropriate to give the five-part saxophone section (A, A, T, T, B) of the wind band a solo role as part of this jazz rock compilation, especially because of the compass and flexible sound of the saxophone, which can closely imitate the human voice.

The creativity of the medley SAX, WIND & FUNK is impressive both in small details and in the consequence of the overall concept. The musical language of the original pieces is transferred without stylistic alienation to the instrumentation of the symphonic wind band. This arrangement is playable from a minimum of three soloists (A, A, T) and with a slight reduction a performance with four saxophones (A, A, T, B) is also possible.

 

You might like to consider ...

120,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

LUDWIG!

MVSR119-2

The Washington Winds - Edward Petersen Ludwig! (Hosay) - Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven / Hosay) - Liechtenstein feiert! (Goetz) - NORA (Asanger) - Under the Boardwalk (arr. Schwalgin) - Psalm 148 (Boesendorfer) - Puppet on a String (arr. ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

The Crazy Charleston Era

MVSR2584

In the 1920s, the modern entertainment industry, as we know it today, was essentially established: films and music from vinyl records and radio became a standard feature of Western culture; jazz was the first form of global pop music that thrilled ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Frank Sinatra Classics

MVSR3210

What fascinates arranger Stefan Schwalgin most about the musical personality of Frank Sinatra is the fact that he was a true fan of orchestras. He always chose big ensembles of top-class musicians as accompaniment – not only big bands but also ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Cartoon Spectacular

MVSR3443

Bugs Bunny, Tom and Jerry, Donald Duck and other (more or less real) characters of movie history were the inspiration for this brilliant little composition. The American cartoon film of the 1930’s and 1940’s established not only a visual, ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Get Up and Go

MVSR3349

“Get up and go” is a good mood piece of music that first of all wants to be jolly. It tells you to get up (even when you maybe have fallen before) and step ahead. This attitude shows in the up-tempo beat of this rock ...

Info

Sax, Wind & Funk

Blasorchester

Sax, Wind & Funk
Medley

for Saxophone Section
and Wind Band

Musikrichtung:
Pop, Rock, Funk, Solo
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:05:30
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR3209
Erscheinungsdatum:
2019

Info

1. September
2. Spinning Wheel
3. Birdland


„Earth, Wind & Fire“, „Blood, Sweat & Tears“ und “Weather Report” – diese drei Jazz-Rock-Bands feierten in den 1970er-Jahren ihre größten Erfolge, und alle drei Gruppen hatten jeweils einen, ganz großen Hit, den auch heute noch jeder Hörer wiedererkennt. Diese drei vom Funk-Stil durchdrungenen Superhits – nämlich „September“, „Spinning Wheel“ und „Birdland“ – werden hier in einem energiegeladenen Medley miteinander vereint. (Der Titel des Medleys, „Sax, Wind & Funk“, spielt natürlich auf die dreifache Aufzählung in den ersten beiden genannten Bandnamen an.)

In der stark von Gesang und elektronischen Instrumenten dominierten Rock- und Popmusik ragt das Saxophon als dasjenige Blasinstrument heraus, das noch am häufigsten zum Einsatz kommt. Für den Jazz hingegen gilt das Saxophon geradezu als Identifikationssymbol schlechthin. So lag es für den Arrangeur Stefan Schwalgin relativ nahe, dem fünfstimmigen Saxophonsatz (A, A, T, T, B) des Blasorchesters im Rahmen einer Jazz-Rock-Zusammenstellung eine solistische Rolle einzuräumen, zumal der Klang des Saxophons aufgrund von Lage und Modulationsfähigkeit des Tons dem menschlichen Gesang am nächsten kommt.

Das Medley SAX, WIND & FUNK besticht durch Einfallsreichtum im Kleinen und Konsequenz im Großen. Die musikalische Sprache der Originalvorlagen wird ohne stilistische Verfremdungen auf die Besetzungsform des Blasorchesters übertragen. Spielbar ist das Medley bereits ab einer Mindestbesetzung von drei Solisten (A, A, T), mit leichten Abstrichen ist auch eine Aufführung mit vier Saxophonen (A, A, T, B) möglich.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

120,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

LUDWIG!

MVSR119-2

The Washington Winds - Edward Petersen Ludwig! (Hosay) - Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven / Hosay) - Liechtenstein feiert! (Götz) - NORA (Asanger) - Under the Boardwalk (arr. Schwalgin) - Psalm 148 (Bösendorfer) - Puppet on a String ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

The Crazy Charleston Era

MVSR2584

In den 20er Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts etablierte sich die moderne Unterhaltungsindustrie, wie wir sie heute kennen, in wesentlichen Zügen: Kinofilme und Musik von Schallplatte und aus dem Radio wurden zum gängigen Bestandteil der ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Frank Sinatra Classics

MVSR3210

Für den Arrangeur Stefan Schwalgin ist an der Musikpersönlichkeit Frank Sinatra besonders die Tatsache interessant, dass er ein echter „Orchesterfan“ war. Er hat sich stets von großen Ensembles aus hochkarätigen Musikern ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Cartoon Spectacular

MVSR3443

Bugs Bunny, Tom & Jerry, Donald Duck und andere Comicfiguren standen Pate bei der Komposition dieses fulminanten kleinen Werks. Der amerikanische Zeichentrickfilm etablierte in den 1930er und 1940er Jahren neben einem visuellen auch einen ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Get Up and Go

MVSR3349

„Get Up and Go“ ist ein echtes Gute-Laune-Stück, das in erster Linie einfach nur fröhlich sein will. Wörtlich übersetzt bedeutet der Titel „Steh‘ auf und geh‘“. Man soll also aufstehen (auch wenn ...

Info