Peter Vierneisel

Peter Vierneisel

born
29.07.1974  in Mannheim

Info

Born in Mannheim in 1974, Peter Vierneisel initially studied music education, German and pedagogy at the Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz. He subsequently qualified as orchestra manager and conductor at the Maastricht College of Music (NL).

His activities have focused on the area of symphonic band music, in which he is now one of Europe’s leading conductors. He works with many well-known ensembles both at professional and at amateur level. Immediately after completing his studies he was appointed principal conductor of the Brandenburg Police Band, a position he held until 2010. He has also conducted the "Rheinhessen Wind Philharmonic", the "Saxony Youth Wind Ensemble", the "Rostock Free Student Orchestra" and the "Bingen-Dromersheim Symphonic Wind Ensemble".

As a guest conductor, Peter Vierneisel has worked together with the Leipzig Radio Wind Orchestra, the Mannheim Wind Philharmonic, the "Landesblasorchester Baden-Württemberg", the "Südwind" Orchestra, the Swabian Youth Wind Ensemble, the Tübingen Saxophone Ensemble and the Brass Band Mannheim.

In addition to his artistic activities, Vierneisel focuses on conductor training. He is an instructor in conducting at the Department of Music and Music Pedagogy of the University of Potsdam, where he passes on his knowledge and experience, as well as on numerous courses.

He is in demand as a teacher, speaker and juror at numerous events on the orchestral scene in Germany. From 2004 to 2006 he was Artistic Director of the “Mannheim Wind Academy” instrumental and orchestral summer school. From 2005 to 2008 he was Music Director of the “Potsdam New Music Festival for Children”, a music theatre project.

In January 2006 Peter Vierneisel received singular recognition of his musical activities when, together with the Mannheim Wind Philharmonic, he was awarded five first prizes, including the categories of Best Conductor, Best Interpretation and Overall Winner, at the orchestral competition held during the “Prague International Music Festival 2006”.

Peter Vierneisel is a committee member of the Brandenburg Music Council (with responsibility for instrumental music) and the German section of WASBE (World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles).

Music by Peter Vierneisel

Peter Vierneisel

Peter Vierneisel

geboren
29.07.1974  in Mannheim

Info

Peter Vierneisel wurde 1974 in Mannheim geboren und studierte zuerst Schulmusik, Germanistik und Pädagogik an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Danach folgte das Studium zum Orchesterleiter und Dirigenten an der Musikhochschule Maastricht (NL).

Seinen Schwerpunkt legte er in den Bereich der Sinfonischen Bläsermusik, wo er mittlerweile zu den führenden Dirigenten in Europa zählt. Er arbeitet mit vielen namhaften Orchestern, sowohl im professionellen als auch im Amateurbereich. So wurde er direkt nach seinem Studium Chefdirigent des Landespolizeiorchesters Brandenburg, dem er bis 2010 vorstand. Darüber hinaus leitete er die Rheinhessische Bläserphilharmonie, das Landesjugendblasorchester Sachsen, das Freie Studentenorchester Rostock sowie das Symphonische Blasorchester Bingen-Dromersheim.

Als Gastdirigent arbeitete Peter Vierneisel mit dem Rundfunkblasorchester Leipzig, der Mannheimer Bläserphilharmonie, dem Landesblasorchester Baden-Württemberg, dem Blasorchester Südwind, dem Schwäbischen Jugendblasorchester, dem Tübinger Saxophonensemble und der Brass Band Mannheim zusammen.

Einen Schwerpunkt neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit bildet die Ausbildung von Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten. So lehrt er am Bereich Musik und Musikpädagogik der Universität Potsdam das Fach Orchesterleitung und gibt in zahlreichen Kursen sein Wissen weiter.

Peter Vierneisel ist ein gefragter Dozent, Referent und Juror auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen im deutschen Orchesterbereich. Von 2004 bis 2006 war er Künstlerischer Leiter der Instrumental- und Orchesterakademie „Mannheim Wind Academy“. 2005 bis 2008 stand er als Musikalischer Leiter dem Musiktheater „Potsdamer Tage der Neuen Musik für Kinder“ vor.

Im Januar 2006 erhielt Peter Vierneisel hohe Anerkennung für sein musikalisches Wirken. Er wurde mit der Mannheimer Bläserphilharmonie beim Orchesterwettbewerb „Internationales Musikfestival Prag 2006“ mit fünf 1. Preisen unter anderem in den Kategorien Bester Dirigent, Beste Interpretation und Gesamtsieg ausgezeichnet.

Peter Vierneisel ist Präsidiumsmitglied des Landesmusikrates Brandenburg (Fachbereich Instrumentalmusik) und der WASBE (World Association for Symphonic Bands & Ensembles), Sektion Deutschland.