Morning Has Broken

Concert Band

Morning Has Broken

Ballad on an Old Gaelic Tune

Arranger:
Genre:
Concert Piece, Ballad
Grade Level:
Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:03:21
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2088
Release Date:
2001

Info

On the one hand, the tune of this song shows us the way to the Celtic world of the Hebrides off the western coast of Scotland. On the other hand it reveals the power that dwells in an air, if it is coupled with convincing lyrics – even in a rather unusual interpretation. Mary MacDonald lived on the Isle of Mull from 1817-1890. She wrote songs and poetry in her mother tongue, namely Gaelic. Among these songs was the popular carol “Infant of Glory, Child Born of Mary”. The tune itself is known as “Bunessan” , which is derived from the city of Bunessan on the Isle of Mull, where Mary MacDonald lived. Presumably in the 1930s of the past century, the English author Eleanor Farjean (1881-1965) was asked to write a poem of thanksgiving for children on the old Gaelic hymn, “Bunessan”. The first verse of this song, which soon became widely known and popular reads: "Morning has broken like the first morning. Blackbird has spoken like the first bird. Praise for the singing, Praise for the morning, Praise for them springing fresh from the World."

In the early years of rock music, almost all groups indulged in a rebellion against Englishness. Then, at the end of the 1960s and start of the 1970s, something changed. It is therefore not surprising that Cat Stevens took advantage of this shift, and recorded the Gaelic “Bunessan” with Eleanor Farjean’s words “Morning Has Broken” in 1972 – and made the charts with that song, a song which is still as popular today as it was then.

You might like to consider ...

65,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Polizeimusikkorps Baden-Württemberg / Toni Scholl CD (Compact Disc)

Emotionen

MVSR024-2

Start Up! - Morning Has Broken – Emotionen/Emotions - Tango Surprise - The Story of Hilti – Pushkin - Song for Little Jenny - A Good Start - Silver Creek Valley – Verdi - Ein bisschen Spass - New Age Rock - Boney M. Super Hits - Saluto Lugano - ...

Info
Pavel Stanek / Stefan Hippe Accordion Orchestra

Morning Has Broken

MVSR2088AK

On the one hand, the tune of this song shows us the way to the Celtic world of the Hebrides off the western coast of Scotland. On the other hand it reveals the power that dwells in an air, if it is coupled with convincing lyrics – even in a rather ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Concert Band

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Today this famous song from Scotland is generally attributed to Robert Burns (1739-1796) although the exact extent of his responsibility for the words and the music has always been controversial. However, it is generally agreed that he was not the ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Crith Mhonadh

MVSR2656

Alfred Boesendorfer invites us on a journey to Scotland, more precisely to Crimond, a village near the Scottish Northeast coast. The local church reveals a striking offset: The clock, bearing the words “The hour’s coming”, has an additional minute ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Michael Korb always did like pipe music. Coming to Berlin after finishing school in 1975, he took lessons with the pipe major of a Scottish batallion. When the Scots left, so did Michael Korb. He moved to Edinburgh, where he had daily lessons with ...

Info
Heinz Briegel / Traditional / Heinz Briegel Concert Band, Choir TTBB

Parade of Glory

MVSR2834

Scotland the Brave is one of the most famous bagpipe melodies and can been regarded as one of the three inofficial Scottish national anthems. It was even used as anthem with soccer world championships or the Commonwalth Games. Heinz Briegel ...

Info
Brendan Graham / Rolf Lovland / Heinz Briegel Concert Band

You Raise Me Up

MVSR2909

This lovely melody became famous because of the singer Josh Groban and the group Westlife who did their own versions of the song. "You raise me up" invites you to a musical dreamworld. Heinz Briegel kept his arrangement very close to the ...

Info

Morning Has Broken

Blasorchester

Morning Has Broken

Ballad on an Old Gaelic Tune

Arrangeur:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk, Ballade
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:03:21
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2088
Erscheinungsdatum:
2001

Info

Die Melodie des Liedes führt einerseits in die keltische Welt der Hebriden vor der Westküste Schottlands und zeigt andererseits, welche Kraft einer Melodie mit überzeugenden Text innewohnt – selbst in einer völlig ungewohnten Interpretation. Von 1817 bis 1890 lebte auf der Insel Mull Mary MacDonald, die Lieder und Gedichte in ihrer Muttersprache, also auf Gälisch, schrieb. Darunter war das beliebte Weihnachtslied „Infant of Glory, Child born of Mary“. Die Melodie für dieses Lied heißt Bunessan und leitet sich ab von dem Ort auf Mull, in dem Mary MacDonald lebte. Vermutlich in den 30er Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts erhielt die englische Schriftstellerin Eleanor Farjean (1881-1965) den Auftrag, ein Danksagungslied für Kinder zu schreiben, dem die Melodie „Bunessan“ unterlegt werden sollte. Die erste Strophe ihres Textes, der schnell bekannt und beliebt wurde, lautet in der von Gisela Zimmer frei ins Deutsche übertragenen Fassung: „Schön ist der Morgen, schau aus dem Fenster, ganz neu geboren, schenkt er den Tag. Nimm ihn und freu dich, danke und denke, wieder kommt für mich ein neuer Tag." Rock-Musik in ihrem Anfang war von den meisten Gruppen als „Rebellion gegen alles Englische“ aufgefasst. Ein Umbruch zeichnete sich ab am Ende der 1960er und zu Beginn der 1970er Jahre. In diese Stimmung hinein nahm Cat Stevens 1972 die Melodie des „Bunessan“ mit dem Text „Morning has Broken“ von Eleanor Farjean auf – und landete einen Welterfolg, der heute noch nicht vergangen ist.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

65,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Polizeimusikkorps Baden-Württemberg / Toni Scholl CD (Compact Disc)

Emotionen

MVSR024-2

Start Up! - Morning Has Broken – Emotionen/Emotions - Tango Surprise - The Story of Hilti – Pushkin - Song for Little Jenny - A Good Start - Silver Creek Valley – Verdi - Ein bisschen Spass - New Age Rock - Boney M. Super Hits - Saluto Lugano - ...

Info
Pavel Stanek / Stefan Hippe Akkordeonorchester

Morning Has Broken

MVSR2088AK

Die Melodie des Liedes führt einerseits in die keltische Welt der Hebriden vor der Westküste Schottlands und zeigt andererseits, welche Kraft einer Melodie mit überzeugenden Text innewohnt – selbst in einer völlig ungewohnten ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Blasorchester

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Dieses berühmte Lied aus Schottland wird heute allgemein Robert Burns (1739-1796) zugeschrieben, obgleich das Ausmaß seiner Urheberschaft lange Zeit fraglich war. Heute geht man davon aus, dass die erste Strophe des Liedes nicht von ihm ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Crith Mhonadh

MVSR2656

Alfred Bösendorfer führt uns in seiner Komposition nach Schottland, genauer gesagt nach Crimond, einem Dorf nahe der Küste im schottischen Nordosten. Die dortige Kirche weist eine Besonderheit auf: Ihre Uhr, die den Schriftzug „Die ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Eine Vorliebe für Dudelsackmusik hatte Michael Korb schon immer. Als er nach Abschluss der Schule 1975 nach Berlin kam, nahm er gleich bei dem "Pipe Major" eines schottischen Bataillons Unterricht auf dem ungewöhnlichen Instrument. ...

Info
Heinz Briegel / Traditional / Heinz Briegel Blasorchester, Chor TTBB

Parade of Glory

MVSR2834

Scotland the Brave gehört zu den bekanntesten Bagpipe (Dudelsack) Melodien und ist eine der drei inoffiziellen Nationalhymnen Schottlands. Die Melodie wurde auch als schottische Nationalhymne bei Fußball-Weltmeisterschaften ...

Info
Brendan Graham / Rolf Lovland / Heinz Briegel Blasorchester

You Raise Me Up

MVSR2909

Mit dieser bezaubernden Melodie, bekannt durch den jungen, talentierten Sänger Josh Groban und die Gruppe Westlife werden Sie Ihre Musiker und Ihr Publikum gleichermaßen in eine träumerische, musikalische Welt entführen. Das ...

Info