May the Road Rise

Concert Band

May the Road Rise

- based on a Traditional Irish Blessing -
Solo Violin (opt. Flute / Bb Clarinet)

Composer:
Genre:
Concert Piece, Solo for Flute, Solo for Clarinet, Solo for Violin, Solo
Grade Level:
Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:04:30
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR3220
Release Date:
2019

Info

Irish Blessings meet us in the field of literature and music in a variety of ways and enjoy great popularity for many years. German composer and teacher Markus Goetz has created a moving setting of such a blessing in the form of a ballad for solo violin and wind band with the work May the Road Rise, based on the traditional Irish tune. This piece was composed for the Youth Wind Orchestra of the City of Zell (Black Forest) and was premiered in December 2018. The soloist was the young violinist Fabian Girod.

The sensitivity of May the Road Rise is able to address and touch listeners in a very direct way. In addition to performance at annual concerts, the special acoustics of a church hall can impressively intensify this effect once again.

Musical Note:
The solo part can be played by a violin as well as flute or clarinet.

 

You might like to consider ...

70,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

LUDWIG!

MVSR119-2

The Washington Winds - Edward Petersen Ludwig! (Hosay) - Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven / Hosay) - Liechtenstein feiert! (Goetz) - NORA (Asanger) - Under the Boardwalk (arr. Schwalgin) - Psalm 148 (Boesendorfer) - Puppet on a String (arr. ...

Info
Enrico Toselli / Zbysek Bittmar Concert Band

Serenata Sentimentale

MVSR1789

Enrico Toselli (1883-1926) was a successful pianist, who later worked as composer, teacher and pianist in Florence. In 1906, he married archduchess Luise of Austria-Tuscany, who left King August II. of Saxonia for him. Six years later, this ...

Info
James L. Hosay Concert Band

Lead Me Home

MVSR2953

Composer James L.Hosay drew the inspiration for “Lead Me Home” from a 19th century American gospel hymn. The exceptional depth of traditional gospel music, touching our hearts, is wonderfully shared in this moving composition for concert band. James L. ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Michael Korb always did like pipe music. Coming to Berlin after finishing school in 1975, he took lessons with the pipe major of a Scottish batallion. When the Scots left, so did Michael Korb. He moved to Edinburgh, where he had daily lessons with ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Concert Band

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Today this famous song from Scotland is generally attributed to Robert Burns (1739-1796) although the exact extent of his responsibility for the words and the music has always been controversial. However, it is generally agreed that he was not the ...

Info
James L. Hosay Concert Band

Carrickfergus Posy

MVSR3435

The beautiful and haunting Irish folk song “Carrickfergus” was almost lost and forgotten to the ages, had it not been for the Irish-born actor Peter O’Toole, who sang the song to his friend, recording artist Dominic Behan. He made a ...

Info
Friedrich von Flotow / Conny Rall Concert Band

Last Rose of Summer

MVSR2063

Friedrich Adolf Ferdinand, Freiherr von Flotow (27 April 1812 – 24 January 1883) was a German composer. He is chiefly remembered for his opera Martha, which was popular in the 19th century and the early part of the 20th. Born in Teutendorf, in ...

Info
James L. Hosay Concert Band

Saint Patrick's Day Parade

MVSR2662

This bright and playful piece takes you to the big Saint Patrick’s Day Parade honoring the Irish patron Patrick on March 17, with all the floats and balloons, and of course, the music! The songs “Saint Patrick’s Day”, ...

Info
Markus Götz Concert Band

Irish Castle

MVSR2633

“Irish Castle“ sounds like music of Irish mythology. The music actually stands alone, but you can also imagine the following scenario while listening to or playing the piece: On the tower of an old Irish castle there stands the lord ...

Info
Kurt Gäble Concert Band

Irish Dream

MVSR7012

The „Irish Dream“ begins with a soft and dreamy melody depicting the natural and beautiful landscape of Ireland. That theme reapears throughout the whole piece. As a contrast we hear a distinctive theme symbolizing the rutted cliffs and the ...

Info
Florian Ziller Concert Band

Donegal Bay

MVSR7104

Donegal Bay is the largest bay in Ireland, at the northwest coast of the “green island”. Three Irish counties border each other there: Donegal, Leitrim and Sligo. In the same manner, Florian Ziller combines three sections of typical Irish ...

Info

May the Road Rise

Blasorchester

May the Road Rise

- based on a Traditional Irish Blessing -
Solo Violin (opt. Flute / Bb Clarinet)

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Solo für Flöte, Solo für Klarinette, Solo für Violine, Solo
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:04:30
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR3220
Erscheinungsdatum:
2019

Info

Irische Segenswünsche (Irish Blessings) begegnen uns im Bereich der Literatur und Musik auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise und erfreuen sich seit vielen Jahren großer Beliebtheit. Der deutsche Komponist und Pädagoge Markus Götz hat mit dem vorliegenden Werk „May the Road Rise“ auf Basis einer traditionellen, irischen Melodie eine bewegende Vertonung eines solchen Segenswunsches in Form einer Ballade für Solo-Violine und Blasorchester geschaffen. Das Werk entstand für das Jugendorchester der Stadtmusik Zell und wurde im Dezember 2018 uraufgeführt. Als Solist wirkte hierbei der junge Musiker Fabian Girod.
 
Die einfühlsame Musik von „May the Road Rise“ ist in der Lage den Zuhörer auf ganz unmittelbare und direkte Art und Weise anzusprechen und zu berühren. Dabei kann – neben der Aufführung in einem Jahreskonzert – die besondere Akustik eines Kirchenraums diese Wirkung noch einmal eindrucksvoll intensivieren.
 

Musikalischer Hinweis:
Der Solo-Part kann sowohl von einer Geige als auch von einer Flöte oder Klarinette gespielt werden.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

70,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

LUDWIG!

MVSR119-2

The Washington Winds - Edward Petersen Ludwig! (Hosay) - Moonlight Sonata (Beethoven / Hosay) - Liechtenstein feiert! (Götz) - NORA (Asanger) - Under the Boardwalk (arr. Schwalgin) - Psalm 148 (Bösendorfer) - Puppet on a String ...

Info
Enrico Toselli / Zbysek Bittmar Blasorchester

Serenata Sentimentale

MVSR1789

Enrico Toselli (1883-1926) war in jungen Jahren ein erfolgreicher Konzertpianist. In späteren Jahren wirkte er in Florenz abwechselnd als Komponist, Lehrer und Pianist. Toselli heiratete 1906 Erzherzogin Luise von Österreich-Toskana, die für ihn ...

Info
James L. Hosay Blasorchester

Lead Me Home

MVSR2953

Die Inspiration zu seinem Choral „Lead Me Home“ schöpfte der Komponist James L.Hosay aus einem alten amerikanischen Gospel-Lied des späten 19. Jahrhunderts. Der einzigartige Tiefgang, mit dem traditionelle Gospel-Musik die Herzen der Menschen ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Eine Vorliebe für Dudelsackmusik hatte Michael Korb schon immer. Als er nach Abschluss der Schule 1975 nach Berlin kam, nahm er gleich bei dem "Pipe Major" eines schottischen Bataillons Unterricht auf dem ungewöhnlichen Instrument. ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Blasorchester

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Dieses berühmte Lied aus Schottland wird heute allgemein Robert Burns (1739-1796) zugeschrieben, obgleich das Ausmaß seiner Urheberschaft lange Zeit fraglich war. Heute geht man davon aus, dass die erste Strophe des Liedes nicht von ihm ...

Info
James L. Hosay Blasorchester

Carrickfergus Posy

MVSR3435

Das schöne und eingängige irische Volkslied „Carrickfergus“ wäre beinahe verloren und vergessen gewesen, wenn es der irisch-stämmige Schauspieler Peter O’Toole nicht seinem Freund, dem Musiker Dominic Behan, ...

Info
Friedrich von Flotow / Conny Rall Blasorchester

Last Rose of Summer

MVSR2063

Der deutsche Opernkomponist Freiherr Friedrich von Flotow entstammte einer alten Mecklenburgischen Adelsfamilie und sollte nach dem Willen des Vaters eigentlich Verwaltungsbeamter werden. Er setzte aber seinen Wunsch durch, sich der Musik zu ...

Info
James L. Hosay Blasorchester

Saint Patrick's Day Parade

MVSR2662

Dieses strahlende und spielerische Werk nimmt uns mit zur feierlichen Parade des Saint Patrick’s Day zu Ehren des irischen Nationalheiligen Patrick am 17. März – mit all seinen Umzugswägen, Luftballons und natürlich der Musik! ...

Info
Markus Götz Blasorchester

Irish Castle

MVSR2633

Die Komposition „Irish Castle“ klingt wie die Musik zu einer alten irischen Sage. Obwohl die Musik eigentlich für sich selbst steht, kann man sich auch folgende Geschichte dazu vorstellen: In einer alten, ehrwürdigen Burg in ...

Info
Kurt Gäble Blasorchester

Irish Dream

MVSR7012

Der „Irische Traum“ („Irish Dream“) beginnt mit einer sanften und verträumten Melodie, die die ursprüngliche und natürliche Landschaft Irlands skizziert. Dieses Grundthema kommt im gesamten Stück immer wieder ...

Info
Florian Ziller Blasorchester

Donegal Bay

MVSR7104

Donegal Bay ist die größte Bucht Irlands, sie befindet sich im Nordwesten der „grünen Insel“. Hier grenzen drei irische Regionen, so genannte Counties aneinander: Donegal, Leitrim und Sligo. Ebenso lässt auch Florian ...

Info