Margarethenmarsch

Concert Band

Margarethenmarsch

nach Motiven aus der Oper “Margarethe“ (Faust) von Charles Gounod

Genre:
March, Opera
Grade Level:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:02:45
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
March / Card Size
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2487
Release Date:
2008

Info

As a son of an organist and town musician Johann Gottfried Piefke grew up in a musical environment and it does not surprise therefore, that he enrolled for his military service in 1835 in the band of the Life Grenadier’s Regiment (1st Brandenburg) No. 8 in Frankfurt on the Oder. Of course, the young military musician could not know then that this regiment should become his military home for the entire time of his active service. Three years later he began his private studies at the Royal Music Academy in Berlin. Upon graduating in Berlin he was transferred back to his regiment in Frankfurt and on Jun. 01, 1843 he was promoted to the rank of Stabshoboist. There he worked hard to improve in musical matters, so that he eventually mastered to play nearly all instruments himself that were represented in his band. A new field of activities opened to the ambitious Stabshoboist when his band deployed to Berlin.

Piefke’s transcriptions and arrangements of the works of his great contemporaries made Hans von Bülow publish an enthusiastically written article in 1858 in which he highly praised Piefke’s achievements. In that period, namely on Jun 23, 1859, Piefke was appointed Royal Prussian Director of Music, a distinction awarded only by the Prussian Academy of Sciences. On account of his achievements Piefke was appointed “Director of Music of the all bands in the 3rd Army Corps” on March 20, 1865. This was a position which neither existed before nor after Piefke; this unique position thus also underlined a singular military appointment in a striking manner.

After the war years the convinced Wagnerian Piefke devoted himself in an increased way to the support of classical music. Due to its numerous concerts in Frankfurt on the Oder and a number of concert tours the Frankfurt band of the Life Grenadiers was regarded to be one of the finest bands of the Royal Prussian Army.

It is said that Gottfried Piefke had the idea to compose a lively march on motifs of “Margarethe” (Faust) at the Lebus training area. To this end he selected two striking prominent fragments for his march: the waltz and the soldiers’ choir for the trio. It is hard to comprehend that the German Federal Armed Forces did not consider this march by Piefke for their “march books”. Consequently Siegfried Rundel must be commended for his new arrangement, as it helps bands that like to perform marches with one of the finest works by Piefke.

You might like to consider ...

38,50 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Militärmusik Salzburg / Ernst Herzog CD (Compact Disc)

Ins Land hinaus

MVSR068-2

Einzug der Olympischen Meisterringer - Neue Kameraden - Bei der Mühle - Ungarns Kinder - Helenenmarsch - Margarethenmarsch - Jázkun-Induló - Leitmeritzer Schützenmarsch - Musik, Musik - Blasmusik macht Laune - Mussinan-Marsch - Ins Land hinaus - ...

Info
Friedrich Lübbert / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Helenenmarsch

MVSR2454

The renowned “military music” publisher Bote & Bock organized annual “competitions” between 1852 and 1862. They were march contests with the aim to gain excellent marches to be eventually used in Prussian band music. In 1857 Music Director ...

Info
August Reckling / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Waidmannsheil

MVSR2593

In September 1871 August Reckling took over the baton of the Grand-Ducal Mecklenburg Rifle Battalion No. 14. He was awarded the title of a Grand-Ducal Mecklenburg Music Director in 1883 and retired from active service in 1890 when the battalion ...

Info
Gottfried Piefke / Hans Ahrens Concert Band

Preußens Gloria

MVSR1687

It goes without saying that the victorious Franco-German War of 1870/71 and - associated therewith - the foundation of the German Empire together with the proclamation of the German emperor in the castle of Versailles on Jan. 18, 1871, exercised a ...

Info

Margarethenmarsch

Blasorchester

Margarethenmarsch

nach Motiven aus der Oper “Margarethe“ (Faust) von Charles Gounod

Musikrichtung:
Marsch, Oper
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:02:45
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
Marschformat
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2487
Erscheinungsdatum:
2008

Info

Als Sohn eines Organisten und Stadtmusikers wuchs Johann Gottfried Piefke in musikalischer Umgebung auf und trat 1835 seinen Wehrdienst im Musikkorps des Leib-Grenadier-Regiments (1. Brandenburgisches) Nr. 8 in Frankfurt an der Oder an. Der junge Hoboist (= Militärmusiker) konnte damals natürlich nicht wissen, dass dieses Regiment zu seiner militärischen Heimat für seine gesamte Dienstzeit werden sollte. Drei Jahre später begann er sein Privatstudium an der Kgl. Musikakademie in Berlin, nach dessen Beendigung er zu seinem Regiment in Frankfurt an der Oder zurückversetzt und am 01. Jun. 1843 zum Stabshoboisten befördert wurde. Dort arbeitete Piefke in erheblichem Maße an sich selbst weiter, so dass er nahezu alle Instrumente, die in seinem Musikkorps vertreten waren, selbst beherrschte. Ein neues Tätigkeitsfeld öffnete sich dem strebsamen Stabshoboisten, als sein Musikkorps nach Berlin verlegte.

Piefkes Transkriptionen und Bearbeitungen der Werke seiner großen Zeitgenossen veranlassten im Jahre 1858 Hans von Bülow zu einem begeistert abgefassten Artikel, in welchem er Piefke über alle Maßen lobte. In diese Zeit, und zwar am 23. Jun. 1859, fällt auch die Ernennung Piefkes zum kgl. preußischen Musikdirektor, einer Auszeichnung, die von der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften verliehen wurde. Aufgrund seiner Leistungen wurde Piefke am 20. März 1865 zum „Direktor der gesamten Musikchöre des III. Armeekorps“ ernannt. Es war dies eine Dienststellung, die es weder vor noch nach Piefke gab; seine einzigartige Stellung wird damit auch mit einer herausgehobenen militärischen Ernennung in markanter Weise unterstrichen.

Nach Ende der Kriegsjahre widmete sich der überzeugte Wagnerianer Piefke vermehrt der Pflege der klassischen Musik zu. Zahlreiche Konzerte in Frankfurt und verschiedene Konzertreisen machten das Frankfurter Musikkorps der Leibgrenadiere zu einem der besten Militärorchester der Kgl. Preußischen Armee.

Auf dem Lebuser Manöverfeld soll Gottfried Piefke die Idee gekommen sein, aus Motiven der Oper „Margarethe“ von Charles Gounod einen schwungvollen Marsch zu komponieren. Hierzu wählte er zwei markante Themen aus: den Walzer und für das Trio den Soldatenchor. Unverständlicherweise hat die Bundeswehr gerade dieses Werk Piefkes nicht in ihre Marschbücher übernommen, so dass die verlegerische Arbeit Siegfried Rundels, den „Margarethenmarsch“ in einer neuen Ausgabe interessierten Orchestern verfügbar zu machen, als besonderes Verdienst herauszustellen ist.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

38,50 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Militärmusik Salzburg / Ernst Herzog CD (Compact Disc)

Ins Land hinaus

MVSR068-2

Einzug der Olympischen Meisterringer - Neue Kameraden - Bei der Mühle - Ungarns Kinder - Helenenmarsch - Margarethenmarsch - Jázkun-Induló - Leitmeritzer Schützenmarsch - Musik, Musik - Blasmusik macht Laune - Mussinan-Marsch - Ins Land hinaus - ...

Info
Friedrich Lübbert / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Helenenmarsch

MVSR2454

Von 1852 bis 1862 führte der renommierte „Militärmusik-Verlag“ Bote & Bock jährliche „Concurrenzen“ durch. Dies waren Marschwettbewerbe, deren Ziel es war, exzellente Märsche für den militärmusikalischen Gebrauch zu erhalten. 1857 beteiligte sich ...

Info
August Reckling / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Waidmannsheil

MVSR2593

August Reckling übernahm im September 1871 die Musik des Großherzoglich Mecklenburgischen Jäger-Bataillons Nr. 14, wurde 1883 zum großherzoglich mecklenburgischen Musikdirektor ernannt und nahm 1890 seinen Abschied vom Bataillon, als dieses nach ...

Info
Gottfried Piefke / Hans Ahrens Blasorchester

Preußens Gloria

MVSR1687

Der gewonnene Deutsch-Französische Krieg 1870/71 sowie die damit einhergehende Reichsgründung in Verbindung mit der Kaiserproklamation im Schloss von Versailles am 18. Januar 1871 fanden selbstredend nachhaltigsten Widerhall in der ...

Info