Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe

Concert Band

Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe

Prayer to the Power of Love
I Pray for the Power of Love

Genre:
Classic, Chorale, Sacred Music, Trauermusik, Classical Transcription
Grade Level:
Unter-/Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:02:36
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
March / Card Size
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2623
Release Date:
2018

Info

Already as a boy, the Ukrainian composer Dmitry Bortniansky (1751-1825) was a member of the court choir in St. Petersburg. He then studied in Bologna, Rome and Naples returning to St. Petersburg in 1779. There he was promoted to state councilor and director of the court chapel. He forged this ensemble into a choir of European bearing. In his oeuvre he amalgamated Russian and western elements into a polyphonic style that he had learned about in Italy. His composition “Kol slaven nash gospod v Zionye” (in English: “How Glorious is our God in Zion”) plays a key role in military music ceremonies of different states. Next to its use in Russia and other Slavonic countries, it distinguishes itself due to its status in the German Grand Ceremony of Beating Retreat. Bortniansky composed this hymn between 1790 and 1801; it soon spread rapidly although it was actually written for the masonic lodge of St. Petersburg by one of its leading masons, M.M. Cheraskov (1733-1807) who himself introduced Bortniansky in the Petersburg lodge. Before the Czarist anthem by Lvov who was Bortniansky’s successor with the court chapel, “Kol Slaven” was performed in place of the national anthem. The hymn was also used for a number of solemn occasions in the army. Most important was its usage during the tattoo that was staged in the army’s daily evening routine. The path of the hymn to Germany began in St. Petersburg in 1824 when parson Johannes Goßner who had converted from catholic denomination, used the lyrics of the hymn “I Adore the Power of Love” written by the German composer of hymns, Gerhard Tersteegen (1697-1769). It is generally known in this version in the German-speaking countries. Due to his activities in Berlin (1826-1858) Goßner passed the song which he had become acquainted with in St. Petersburg together with the lyrics adopted from Tersteegen to the court of King Frederick William III of Prussia. The first performance of the chorale goes back to a massed bands concert (Concert monstre) that was staged in Berlin in 1838 to honor the Russian Czar Nicholas I who stayed in Berlin for a state visit. Wilhelm Wieprecht, the “Director of all Bands of the Guards Corps” set as finale of a demanding concert his newly arranged Grand Ceremony of Beating Retreat which then was called “Russian Tattoo”. Although some other airs were performed in place of Bortnianky’s since that time, it became eventually mandatory for the Ceremony of the Grand Retreat. This, however, occurred only recently on the basis of a joint service regulation of the German Federal Armed Forces. There is only one exception to this rule, as “The Bavarian Military Prayer” by Johann Caspar Aiblinger (1779-1876) will be played in that state for traditional and historic reasons.

You might like to consider ...

46,50 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Heeresmusikkorps Ulm / Matthias Prock CD (Compact Disc)

Sympatria

MVSR113-2

Sympatria (Asanger) - Wiener Praterleben (Translateur / arr. Schwalgin) - Feuerfest ! (Strauss / arr. Rundel) - Godfather of Seville (Hosay) - Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe / I Pray for the Power of Love (arr. Boesendorfer) - Perger Polka ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Jubilate

MVSR2655

Joyful bell sounds open the festive Vespers song “Jubilate”. The music immediately touches our hearts, when the tubas first present the main motive. It then is played unisono, as being sung by a cantor, who is answered by a polyphonic choral. We ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Canto Ambrosiano

MVSR2631

For his composition “Canto Ambrosiano” Alfred Boesendorfer used the well-known ecumenical hymn “Großer Gott, wir loben dich” (Holy God, we praise thy name), which traces back to “Te Deum laudamus”, the famous Ambrosian chant. Timpani and brass open ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670

The composition EVENTIDE FALL is based upon the hymn “Abide With Me”, consisting of the text by Scottish poet Henry Francis Lyte, written in 1847, which is typically sung to the melody “Eventide” by English composer William Henry Monk. The hymn ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Drei Meditationen

MVSR1650

Wind bands in Central Europe perform in churches for a very long time. In the 19th century they were even founded as substitute for organs in rural areas. Churchly music is still an important part of wind band culture. Composer Alfred Bösendorfer ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Vorspiel und Choral

MVSR1710

Johann Rudolph Ahle (1625-1673) was a Protestant church musician, organist, composer and poet. His oeuvre has been nearly completely preserved; it includes sectarian vocal and organ music, clerical instrumental music, a document about music theory, ...

Info

Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe

Blasorchester

Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe

Prayer to the Power of Love
I Pray for the Power of Love

Musikrichtung:
Klassik, Choral / Choräle, Sakrale Musik, Trauermusik, Klassische Transkription
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Unter-/Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:02:36
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
Marschformat
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2623
Erscheinungsdatum:
2018

Info

Der ukrainische Komponist Dmitrij Stepanowitsch Bortnjanskij (1751-1825) war bereits als Junge Angehöriger der Hofsängerkapelle in Sankt Petersburg und studierte anschließend in Bologna, Rom und Neapel. 1779 kehrte er nach Sankt Petersburg zurück, wo er zum Staatsrat und zum Direktor der Hofsängerkapelle ernannt wurde. Aus diesem Chor formte er ein Ensemble von europäischem Rang. In seinen Werken verknüpfte er russische und westliche Elemente zu einem polyphonen Stil, wie er ihn in Italien kennengelernt hatte. Sein Werk „Kol slaven nasch gospod Sionje“ (zu deutsch „Wie ruhmreich ist unser Herr in Zion“) spielt heute noch eine bedeutende Rolle in militärmusikalischen Zeremonien verschiedener Staaten. Neben dem Gebrauch in Russland und weiteren slawischen Ländern zeichnet den Choral vor allem seine Stellung im Großen Zapfenstreich in Deutschland aus. Bortnjanskij komponierte den Choral in der Zeit zwischen 1790 und 1801. Und dieser fand schnell größte Verbreitung, obgleich er eigentlich für die Petersburger Freimaurerloge geschrieben wurde, deren führendes Mitglied M. M. Cheraskow (1733-1807) war, der seinerseits Bortnjanskij in die Loge eingeführt hatte. Vor der Komposition der Kaiserhymne durch Lwow, dem Nachfolger Bortnjanskijs bei der Hofsängerkapelle, wurde „Kol Slaven“ oft anstelle der Hymne gespielt. Das Lied wurde natürlich auch bei der Armee für verschiedene Anlässe verwendet. Vor allem jedoch erklang es allabendlich im Rahmen des Zapfenstreichs. Der Weg des Chorals nach Deutschland begann in St. Petersburg im Jahre 1824, als der zum evangelischen Glauben übergetretene Pfarrer Johannes Goßner dem Choral den Liedtext „Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe“ des deutschen Kirchenlieddichters Gerhard Tersteegen (1697-1769) unterlegte. Im deutschen Sprachraum ist er seither in dieser Form bekannt. Durch seine Tätigkeit in Berlin (1826-1858) vermittelte Goßner die Melodie, die er in Sankt Petersburg kennengelernt hatte, samt unterlegtem Text an den Hof des Königs Friedrich Wilhelm III. von Preußen. Die Aufführung des Chorals geht zurück auf ein sog. „Monster-Konzert“ (Concert monstre) im Jahre 1838 zu Ehren des russischen Zaren Nikolaus I., der zu einem Staatsbesuch in Berlin weilte. Der „Direktor sämtlicher Musikchöre des Gardekorps“, Wilhelm Wieprecht, setzte an das Ende eines anspruchsvollen Konzerts den von ihm neu geschaffenen Großen Zapfenstreich (damals „Russischer Zapfenstreich“ genannt). Obgleich mehrfach andere Melodien an die Stelle von Bortnjanskijs Werk traten, wurde es schließlich für den Großen Zapfenstreich – allerdings erst in der Bundeswehr – mittels einer Zentralen Dienstvorschrift als verbindlich festgelegt. Eine Ausnahme davon bildet nur Bayern, wo das „Bayerische Militärgebet“ von Johann Caspar Aiblinger (1779-1867) an seiner Stelle erklingt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

46,50 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Heeresmusikkorps Ulm / Matthias Prock CD (Compact Disc)

Sympatria

MVSR113-2

Sympatria (Asanger) - Wiener Praterleben (Translateur / arr. Schwalgin) - Feuerfest ! (Strauß / arr. Rundel) - Godfather of Seville (Hosay) - Ich bete an die Macht der Liebe (arr. Bösendorfer) - Perger Polka (Gäble) - The Sound of ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Jubilate

MVSR2655

Das feierliche Vesperlied „Jubilate“ wird mit freudvollem Glockengeläut eröffnet. Die Musik ist leicht zugänglich, das Hauptmotiv erklingt nach den ersten vier Takten erstmals in den Tuben. Das Thema wird daraufhin unisono vorgestellt, wie von ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Canto Ambrosiano

MVSR2631

Alfred Bösendorfer verarbeitet in „Canto Ambrosiano“ das berühmte ökumenische Kirchenlied „Großer Gott, wir loben dich“. Dieses geht auf den bekannten Ambrosianischen Lobgesang (Te Deum laudamus) zurück. Das feierliche Werk wird durch Pauken und ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670

Der Komposition Eventide-Fall (Das Eintreten der Dämmerung) liegt das Kirchenlied „Abide with me“ (Bleibe bei mir, Herr) zugrunde. Dieses verbindet den gleichnamigen Text des schottischen Dichters Henry Francis Lyte aus dem Jahr 1847 ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Drei Meditationen

MVSR1650

Blasorchester in Mitteleuropa musizieren seit langem in Kirchen. Vielfach wurden sie sogar im 19. Jahrhundert als „Orgelersatz“, vor allem im ländlichen Raum, gegründet. Folglich ist dem besonderen Bedarf des Musizierens in der ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Vorspiel und Choral

MVSR1710

Johann Rudolph Ahle (1625-1673) war ein evangelischer Kirchenmusiker, Organist, Komponist und Dichter. Sein künstlerisches Gesamtwerk ist fast vollständig erhalten und umfasst geistliche Vokal- und Orgelmusik, weltliche ...

Info