Hey Jude

Concert Band

Hey Jude

- as performed by The Beatles -

Original Artist:
Genre:
Light Music, Pop, Ballad, + Vocal (ad lib.), Show
Grade Level:
Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:03:36
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2139
Release Date:
2020

Info

The song "Hey Jude" was released as a single by the Beatles in 1968, became an absolute hit within a short time. Today, it is known as one of the "Fab Four’s” greatest classics. With 7.5 million copies sold, the song is considered the Beatles' best-selling single.

Paul McCartney originally wrote the song for John Lennon's son Julian. The original lyrics and title were "Hey Jules" ("Jules" was Julian Lennon’s nickname). Lennon’s son suffered from his parents’ separation at that time. Maybe in order to not make the kid the centre of attention, McCartney later changed the title to "Hey Jude".

"Hey Jude" is a song of comfort. It starts very discreetly, with solo singing accompanied only by piano and guitar. Then it gradually increases in volume and finally culminates in a long hymnic coda in which all participants virtually celebrate a musical "party". The ending is overcoming the melancholy of the beginning. The orchestra of 36 people participating in the Beatles studio version sang and clapped their hands to the full while recording the world-famous "Na-na-na" choir!

In his arrangement Martin Scharnagl depicts this whole range of emotions. It is as simple as it is artful: elegant, singing counterpoint often enrich the musical events, and yet the structure remains compact and easy to master for any intermediate orchestra. By the way, Scharnagl's version of "Hey Jude" is also perfectly suited for small and smallest ensembles (see the instrumentation note below).

You might like to consider ...

70,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Richard Adler / Jerry Ross / Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Hernando's Hideaway

MVSR2142

The song "Hernando's Hideaway" was written for the musical "The Pajama Game" by Jerry Ross and Richard Adler in 1954. The lyrics are about a dark, somewhat infamous place called "Hernando's Hideaway", where all ...

Info
Stephin Merritt / Martin Scharnagl Concert Band

The Book Of Love

MVSR2137

In 1999, American singer-songwriter Stephin Merritt released his song "The Book of Love" on CD 69 Love Songs. In the almost spartan-looking original version of Merit's uncut vocal presentation is accompanied only by a guitar. The English ...

Info
Bee Gees / Markus Götz Concert Band

How Deep Is Your Love

MVSR2116

“How Deep Is Your Love” is the question of the brothers Maurice, Robin and Barry Gibb (better known as the Bee Gees) in this world-famous pop song. They recorded the ballad in 1977 and contributed it to the soundtrack of “Saturday ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Under the Boardwalk

MVSR2138

Summer, sun and beach - this carefree attitude to life was expressed in 1964 by the black vocal group The Drifters with their song Under the Boardwalk. Latin-American inspired rhythms at a moderate tempo give the song a sunny, relaxed holiday ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Puppet on a String

MVSR2136

With “Puppet on a String” the British singer Sandy Shaw won the Eurovision Song Contest (ESC / officially named "Grand Prix de la Chanson" at that time) in 1967. Although the singer herself did not like the song at ...

Info
Neil Diamond / Stefan Schwalgin Concert Band

Sweet Caroline

MVSR3208

Today, Neil Diamond is regarded as one of the biggest songwriters and musicians of popular music, but during the initial years, his career didn't really start well. After a very unsuccessful years period, Diamond established himself as a ...

Info
Benny Andersson / Björn Ulvaeus / Martin Scharnagl Ensemble (Brass)

The Way Old Friends Do

MVSR5560

The Way Old Friends Do” is a song by Swedish pop group ABBA. The live recording of a concert in 1979 appeared on the successful album “Super Trouper” (1980). While singing this song, the four ABBA members stood at the edge of the ...

Info

Hey Jude

Blasorchester

Hey Jude

- as performed by The Beatles -

Original Interpret:
Musikrichtung:
Unterhaltungsmusik, Pop, Ballade, + Vocal (ad lib.), Show
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:03:36
Serientitel:
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2139
Erscheinungsdatum:
2020

Info

Der Song „Hey Jude“ wurde von den Beatles 1968 als Single veröffentlicht, entwickelte sich binnen kurzer Zeit zum Superhit und späterhin zu einem der größten Klassiker der „Pilzköpfe“. Mit 7,5 Millionen verkaufter Exemplare gilt der Song als meistverkaufte Single der Beatles.

Paul McCartney schrieb den Song ursprünglich für John Lennons Sohn Julian. Da lautete der Anfangstext und Titel noch „Hey Jules“ („Jules“ war der Spitzname von Julian Lennon). Vielleicht um den Lennon-Sohn, der damals unter der Trennung seiner Eltern litt, aus dem Blickfeld zu nehmen, änderte er die Anrede im Song später in „Hey Jude“.

„Hey Jude“ ist ein Lied des Trostes. Es beginnt sehr dezent, mit nur von Klavier und Gitarre begleitetem Solo-Gesang, steigert sich schrittweise und mündet schließlich in eine lange hymnische Coda, in der alle Beteiligten geradezu eine musikalische „Party“ zelebrieren und damit die Melancholie des Anfangs überwinden. Das an der Beatles-Aufnahme mitwirkende 36-köpfige Orchester sang und klatschte bei dem weltweit bekannten „Na-na-na“-Chor aus vollen Kräften mit!

Martin Scharnagl bildet in seinem Arrangement diese ganze Bandbreite der Emotionen ab. Seine Bearbeitung ist gleichermaßen einfach wie kunstvoll: Elegante, sangliche Nebenmelodien bereichern vielfach das musikalische Geschehen, und dennoch bleibt die Struktur kompakt und für jedes Mittelstufen-Orchester leicht zu bewältigen. Scharnagls Version von „Hey Jude“ ist übrigens auch für kleine und kleinste Formationen bestens geeignet (Siehe hierzu den Besetzungshinweis unten).

Das Arrangement ist bereits mit der folgenden Mindestbesetzung spielbar:

Bb/C Trompete 1
Bb/C Trompete 2
Bb/C Trompete 3
Bb/C Tenorhorn (auch mit Posaune oder Horn spielbar)
C/Bb Euphonium (Bariton) (auch mit Posaune oder Horn spielbar)
C/Bb Tuba 2
Schlagzeug

Solo für Vocal (ad lib.) & Blasorchester
Tonumfang/Range: d'-f''
Text/Lyrics: english

Serie Sound Classics No. 25
 

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

70,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Berthold Schick und seine Allgäu6 / Berthold Schick CD (Compact Disc)

World in Color

MVSR126-2

Berthold Schick und seine Allgäu6 Straight Fit (Kraas) - Downtown (arr. Schwalgin) - Sweet Memory (Ericsen) - 36.5° C (Kraas) - My Dream (Leitner) - Sweet Caroline (arr. Schwalgin) - World in Color (Kraas) - Under the Boardwalk ...

Info
Richard Adler / Jerry Ross / Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Hernando's Hideaway

MVSR2142

Den Song „Hernando’s Hideaway” schrieben Jerry Ross und Richard Adler 1954 für das Musical „The Pajama Game“. Im Gesangstext geht es um ein düsteres, etwas anrüchiges Lokal namens „Hernando’s ...

Info
Stephin Merritt / Martin Scharnagl Blasorchester

The Book of Love

MVSR2137

1999 veröffentlichte der amerikanische Singer-Songwriter Stephin Merritt seinen Song „The Book of Love" auf der CD 69 Love Songs. In der fast spartanisch wirkenden Originalfassung wird Merritts ungeschliffener ...

Info
Bee Gees / Markus Götz Blasorchester

How Deep Is Your Love

MVSR2116

„Wie tief ist deine Liebe” ("How Deep Is Your Love") fragen die Gebrüder Maurice, Robin und Barry Gibb – besser bekannt als Bee Gees – in diesem weltberühmten Pop Song. Im Jahr 1977 nahm das Trio das Lied im ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Under the Boardwalk

MVSR2138

Sommer, Sonne und Strand – dieses unbeschwerte Lebensgefühl vermittelte 1964 die schwarze Gesangsgruppe The Drifters mit ihrem Song Under the Boardwalk (zu Deutsch in etwa: „An der Strandpromenade“). ...

Info
Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Puppet on a String

MVSR2136

Mit "Puppet on a String" siegte die britische Sängerin Sandy Shaw beim Eurovision Song Contest 1967 (der damals offiziell noch "Grand Prix de la Chanson" hieß). Obwohl die Sängerin selbst das Lied anfangs nicht ...

Info
Neil Diamond / Stefan Schwalgin Blasorchester

Sweet Caroline

MVSR3208

Neil Diamond gilt heute als einer der größten Songschreiber und Musiker der populären Musik, jedoch kam seine Karriere in den Anfangsjahren nur schwer in die Gänge. Nach einer sehr erfolglosen Phase, etablierte sich Diamond ab Mitte ...

Info
Benny Andersson / Björn Ulvaeus / Martin Scharnagl Ensemble (Blech)

The Way Old Friends Do

MVSR5560

„The Way Old Friends Do“ (Wie es alte Freunde tun) ist ein Song der legendären schwedischen Popgruppe ABBA. Der Live-Mitschnitt von einem Konzert im Jahr 1979 in London wurde auf dem erfolgreichen Album „Super Trouper“ ...

Info