Eventide Fall

Concert Band

Eventide Fall

Das Eintreten der Dämmerung

Genre:
Chorale, Sacred Music, Song
Grade Level:
Unter-/Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:03:31
Publisher:
Rundel
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR1670
Release Date:
1993

Info

The composition EVENTIDE FALL is based upon the hymn “Abide With Me”, consisting of the text by Scottish poet Henry Francis Lyte, written in 1847, which is typically sung to the melody “Eventide” by English composer William Henry Monk. The hymn expresses the plea to God that he might save people from the approaching nightfall and not leave them alone in the dark. One can also imagine approaching death losing its horror thanks to God’s stewardship. Henry Francis Lyte set his poem to music to find consolation when he was on his deathbed, suffering from tuberculosis.

Alfred Bösendorfer drew inspiration from this comforting hymn to write his composition EVENTIDE FALL. He imagined the atmosphere of a church in the evening and set this association to music: It is still dark, a few candles are burning and a few parishioners have already taken a seat at the pews. The organist sits down at his instrument. The church increasingly fills and more candles are lit. Now the organist begins with a prelude – he holds the first note for a moment to consider what to improvise. Then he plays a soft first motif and pauses again before repeating the motif a note higher. Doing this, he is already thinking about the following chorale, so he adapts the music accordingly. Now the chorale begins, presented with great reverence. The faithful pray for support in difficult times (“When evening falls”). Baritones and euphoniums repeat the melody with a warm timbre. The music is full of devotion and one almost senses the presence of the Lord. Towards the end, the chorale is presented a third time. Now one can feel the joy in the hearts of the worshippers. Noble brass play with a full and rich sound, while higher woodwinds add jubilation in those hearts, filled with calm contentment.

You might like to consider ...

46,50 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Zentralorchester (Ostrava) / Zdenek Samlík / Jiri Cano CD (Compact Disc)

Platzkonzert in Ostrava

MVSR004-2

Das Abzeichen - In Modo Barocco - Schlesischer Tanz - Ballade - Schönfeld-Marsch - Tenoristenflirt - Eventide Fall - Bohemia-Polka - Spaziergang im Park - The Big Opening - Love Melody - Quadriga-Marsch - Feuerwehrpolka - Mesicek sviti - ...

Info
Verschiedene CD (Compact Disc)

Gloria Dei

MVSR056-2

Zwei Krönungsintraden - Ave Maria - Panis Angelicus - Altböhmischer Hl.-Wenzel-Choral - Un poco larghetto - Toccata BuxWV 157 - St. Thomas-Choral - Vier Choräle für Bläser - Present of Love - Westminster Hymn - Gloria Sancti - Intrada, Präludium ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer / Gerd Huber Accordion Orchestra

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670AK

The composition EVENTIDE FALL is based upon the hymn “Abide With Me”, consisting of the text by Scottish poet Henry Francis Lyte, written in 1847, which is typically sung to the melody “Eventide” by English composer William Henry ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Fanfare Band (Dutch Type)

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670F

"Eventide Fall" describes evenfall, when the sun slowly sets, the world comes to rest and is covered in a shroud of mystery and peace. In a church burn candles casting a warm light on the statues and paintings. Some churchgoers wait on the benches ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Drei Meditationen

MVSR1650

Wind bands in Central Europe perform in churches for a very long time. In the 19th century they were even founded as substitute for organs in rural areas. Churchly music is still an important part of wind band culture. Composer Alfred Bösendorfer ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Intrada, Präludium und Lied

MVSR1786

"Intrada, Prelude and Song" by Alfred Bösendorfer is a beautiful and catchy piece for festive occasions. Wonderful Melodies and mastefull instrumentation, characteristic for Bösendorfer, raise a celebratory atmosphere. The about three-minute ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Vorspiel und Choral

MVSR1710

Johann Rudolph Ahle (1625-1673) was a Protestant church musician, organist, composer and poet. His oeuvre has been nearly completely preserved; it includes sectarian vocal and organ music, clerical instrumental music, a document about music theory, ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Westminster Hymn

MVSR1792

Westminster Abbey is a world-famous historical monument. It is the tallest Gothic building in the British Isles and reflects the unimaginable greatness of God by its soaring architecture. The special significance of the Abbey is rooted, however, in ...

Info

Eventide Fall

Blasorchester

Eventide Fall

Das Eintreten der Dämmerung

Musikrichtung:
Choral / Choräle, Lied
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Unter-/Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:03:31
Verlag:
Rundel
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR1670
Erscheinungsdatum:
1993

Info

Der Komposition Eventide-Fall (Das Eintreten der Dämmerung) liegt das Kirchenlied „Abide with me“ (Bleibe bei mir, Herr) zugrunde. Dieses verbindet den gleichnamigen Text des schottischen Dichters Henry Francis Lyte aus dem Jahr 1847 mit der Melodie „Eventide“ des englischen Komponisten William Henry Monk. Das Lied drückt die Bitte zu Gott aus, er möge die Menschen in der nahenden Dämmerung beschützen und sie in der Dunkelheit nicht alleine lassen. Dieses Bild lässt sich auch auf den nahenden Tod übertragen, der durch den Beistand Gottes seinen Schrecken verliert. Henry Francis Lyte vertonte sein Gedicht, während er mit Tuberkulose auf den Sterbebett lag, um darin Trost zu finden.

Alfred Bösendorfer schöpfte aus diesem tröstlichen Kirchenlied die Inspiration für seine Komposition EVENTIDE FALL. Dabei stellte er sich die Atmosphäre in einer Kirche am Abend vor, die er musikalisch umsetzt: Es ist noch finster, vereinzelt brennen Kerzen, die ersten Kirchenbesucher haben schon Platz genommen. Der Organist setzt sich an sein Instrument. Langsam füllt sich die Kirche und es werden weitere Kerzen entzündet. Nun beginnt der Organist mit einem Vorspiel – er überlegt, was er improvisieren soll und hält daher den ersten Ton lange aus. Dann spielt er leise ein erstes Motiv, wartet wieder einen Moment und wiederholt anschließend das Motiv einen Ton höher. Dabei denkt er bereits an den nachfolgenden Choral und passt die Musik entsprechend an. Der Choral beginnt und wird sehr andächtig vorgetragen. Die Gläubigen beten um Beistand in schwierigen Zeiten („Wenn der Abend fällt“). Wiederholt wird die Melodie von Tenorhorn und Bariton mit ihrem warmen Klang. Die Musik ist voller Hingabe, man spürt geradezu die Anwesenheit des Herrn. Zum Schluss erklingt eine dritte Darstellung des Chorals. Man spürt die Freude in den Herzen der Gläubigen. Das strahlende Blech spielt jetzt mit voller Klangschönheit, während das hohe Holz den Jubelklang der Herzen hinzufügt. Am Ende kehrt zufriedene Ruhe in den Herzen ein.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

41,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Zentralorchester (Ostrava) / Zdenek Samlík / Jiri Cano CD (Compact Disc)

Platzkonzert in Ostrava

MVSR004-2

Das Abzeichen - In Modo Barocco - Schlesischer Tanz - Ballade - Schönfeld-Marsch - Tenoristenflirt - Eventide Fall - Bohemia-Polka - Spaziergang im Park - The Big Opening - Love Melody - Quadriga-Marsch - Feuerwehrpolka - Mesicek sviti - ...

Info
Verschiedene CD (Compact Disc)

Gloria Dei

MVSR056-2

Zwei Krönungsintraden - Ave Maria - Panis Angelicus - Altböhmischer Hl.-Wenzel-Choral - Un poco larghetto - Toccata BuxWV 157 - St. Thomas-Choral - Vier Choräle für Bläser - Present of Love - Westminster Hymn - Gloria Sancti - Intrada, Präludium ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Drei Meditationen

MVSR1650

Blasorchester in Mitteleuropa musizieren seit langem in Kirchen. Vielfach wurden sie sogar im 19. Jahrhundert als „Orgelersatz“, vor allem im ländlichen Raum, gegründet. Folglich ist dem besonderen Bedarf des Musizierens in der ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Intrada, Präludium und Lied

MVSR1786

Alfred Bösendorfer hat mit "Intrada, Präludium und Lied" ein wunderbares und eingängiges Werk für festliche Anlässe geschrieben. Die für Bösendorfer typische schöne Melodieführung und gekonnte Orchestrierung lassen eine feierliche Stimmung aufkommen. ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Vorspiel und Choral

MVSR1710

Johann Rudolph Ahle (1625-1673) war ein evangelischer Kirchenmusiker, Organist, Komponist und Dichter. Sein künstlerisches Gesamtwerk ist fast vollständig erhalten und umfasst geistliche Vokal- und Orgelmusik, weltliche ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Westminster Hymn

MVSR1792

Die Westminster-Abtei ist ein weltberühmtes Baudenkmal. Sie ist das höchste gotische Bauwerk auf den Britischen Inseln und spiegelt in ihrer aufwärtsstrebenden Architektur die unvorstellbare Größe Gottes wider. Die besondere ...

Info