Admiral-Stosch-Marsch

Concert Band

Admiral-Stosch-Marsch
Admiral Stosch Marsch

Composer:
Genre:
Concert March, Traditional March, March
Grade Level:
Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:01:56
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2597
Release Date:
2013

Info

On October 10, 1871, Emperor Wilhelm I decreed the establishment of a permanent navy band in Wilhelmshaven. Stabshoboist (Bandmaster) Latann became the first leader of this band of the 2nd Naval Battalion. When it was decided in 1878 to reduce the authorized strength of this organization, Latann lodged a protest and concentrated on finding a civilian employment. His efforts to found a music school in Wilhelmshaven and to find engagements in Jever and Njimwegen/The Netherlands were not really successful. It was only for a very short period that he was eventually employed as municipal music director in Bad Freienwalde in 1888, as he already passed away on October 10 of that year. His march “Admiral Stosch” which is still popular today reminds us of Albrecht von Stosch (1818-1896), first Chief of Staff of the newly formed German Admiralty. Stosch applied a lot of energy on the expansion of the German fleet and rendering possible the construction of men-of-war at domestic shipyards. In the march he integrated a musical citation (“It is the Lord’s Day) drawn from “The Shepherd’s Sunday Anthem” on a poem by Ludwig Uhland and set to music by Konradin Kreutzer.

You might like to consider ...

55,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Militärmusik Salzburg / Ernst Herzog CD (Compact Disc)

Ins Land hinaus

MVSR068-2

Einzug der Olympischen Meisterringer - Neue Kameraden - Bei der Mühle - Ungarns Kinder - Helenenmarsch - Margarethenmarsch - Jázkun-Induló - Leitmeritzer Schützenmarsch - Musik, Musik - Blasmusik macht Laune - Mussinan-Marsch - Ins Land hinaus - ...

Info
Hermann Dostal / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Fliegermarsch

MVSR2393

Hermann Dostal was born in Strelice in northern Moravia. He grew up in a musical environment and then studied at the conservatoires of Prague and in Vienna. Dostal entered military service, presumably as an apprentice musician with Infantry Regiment No. ...

Info
Carl Teike / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Graf Zeppelin

MVSR0198

When one considers the lasting success of several sparkling marches by Carl Teike (1864-1922), one is generally inclined to think that this composer was able to “profit financially” from his music. This is not true at all, as this modest ...

Info
Friedrich Lübbert / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Helenenmarsch

MVSR2454

The renowned “military music” publisher Bote & Bock organized annual “competitions” between 1852 and 1862. They were march contests with the aim to gain excellent marches to be eventually used in Prussian band music. In 1857 Music Director ...

Info
Gottfried Piefke / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Margarethenmarsch

MVSR2487

As a son of an organist and town musician Johann Gottfried Piefke grew up in a musical environment and it does not surprise therefore, that he enrolled for his military service in 1835 in the band of the Life Grenadier’s Regiment (1st Brandenburg) ...

Info

Admiral-Stosch-Marsch

Blasorchester

Admiral-Stosch-Marsch
Admiral Stosch Marsch

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertmarsch, Traditionsmarsch, Marsch
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:01:56
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2597
Erscheinungsdatum:
2013

Info

Am 28.10.1871 verfügte Kaiser Wilhelm I. die Aufstellung eines ständigen Marinemusikkorps in Wilhelmshaven. Mit der Leitung des Musikkorps der II. Matrosendivision wurde der Stabshoboist Carl Latann beauftragt. Als 1878 der Stand des Orchesters drastisch verkleinert werden sollte, erhob Latann Widerspruch und suchte vermehrt nach einer zivilen Anstellung. Der Versuch zur Gründung einer Musikschule in Wilhelmshaven sowie Anstellungen in Jever und Nimwegen/Niederlande waren für ihn nicht wirklich erfolgreich. Nur für kurze Zeit konnte Latann anschließend noch eine Anstellung als Städtischer Musikdirektor in Bad Freienwalde im Jahr 1888 finden, denn bereits am 154. Oktober d.J. ist er dort verstorben. Sein heute noch geschätzter Marsch „Admiral Stosch“ erinnert an Albrecht von Stosch (1818-1896), den ersten Chef der neu gegründeten deutschen Admiralität. Stosch verwandte große Energie darauf, die deutsche Kriegsflotte beträchtlich zu vergrößern und den Bau der Schiffe auf einheimischen Werften zu ermöglichen. Im Marsch verwendet Latann ein Zitat („Das ist der Tag des Herrn“) aus „Schäfers Sonntagslied“ nach einem Gedicht von Ludwig Uhland und vertont von Conradin Kreutzer.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

55,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Militärmusik Salzburg / Ernst Herzog CD (Compact Disc)

Ins Land hinaus

MVSR068-2

Einzug der Olympischen Meisterringer - Neue Kameraden - Bei der Mühle - Ungarns Kinder - Helenenmarsch - Margarethenmarsch - Jázkun-Induló - Leitmeritzer Schützenmarsch - Musik, Musik - Blasmusik macht Laune - Mussinan-Marsch - Ins Land hinaus - ...

Info
Hermann Dostal / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Fliegermarsch

MVSR2393

Die ersten erfolgreichen Flugversuche in der Zeit kurz vor Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs ließen förmlich eine „Fliegermanie“ entstehen, an der auch die Operette nicht achtlos vorübergehen konnte. Der Komponist Hermann Dostal hat 1912 die Operette ...

Info
Carl Teike / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Graf Zeppelin

MVSR0198

Wenn man an den selbst heute noch anhaltenden Erfolg einer Reihe zündender Teike-Märsche denkt, dann unterstellt man in aller Regel, dass der Komponist Carl Teike (1864-1922) „gut von seiner Musik leben" konnte. Weit gefehlt, denn der bescheidene ...

Info
Friedrich Lübbert / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Helenenmarsch

MVSR2454

Von 1852 bis 1862 führte der renommierte „Militärmusik-Verlag“ Bote & Bock jährliche „Concurrenzen“ durch. Dies waren Marschwettbewerbe, deren Ziel es war, exzellente Märsche für den militärmusikalischen Gebrauch zu erhalten. 1857 beteiligte sich ...

Info
Gottfried Piefke / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Margarethenmarsch

MVSR2487

Als Sohn eines Organisten und Stadtmusikers wuchs Johann Gottfried Piefke in musikalischer Umgebung auf und trat 1835 seinen Wehrdienst im Musikkorps des Leib-Grenadier-Regiments (1. Brandenburgisches) Nr. 8 in Frankfurt an der Oder an. Der junge ...

Info