Scarborough Fair

Concert Band

Scarborough Fair

English Ballad for Band

Composer:
Genre:
Concert Piece, Ballad, Song, Folklore
Grade Level:
Mittelstufe
Performance time:
00:03:35
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2940
Release Date:
2014

Info

German composer and arranger Heinz Briegel created a wonderful concert band version of the traditional English folk song “Scarborough Fair”. He brings to bear the rather dark and tragic atmosphere of the song – after all it is the story of an abandoned young man recounting impossible tasks for his former beloved. She should sew a seamless shirt for her lover and wash it in a dry well before he takes her back. The girl in return also has some impossible requests, promising the seamless shirt to the young man when they are accomplished. Heinz Briegel paints this story in dark colors; the world-famous melody unfolds its tragic beauty within haunting concert band tonalities and finally fades in the distance – like the lost hope of reconciliation for the two once lovers.

You might like to consider ...

65,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

Westcoast

MVSR095-2

New Festival Music, Westcoast Concerto (for Piano & Band), Aria d'Amore, Die Gedanken ... Spiele, Lead Me Home, Crith Mhonadh (Crimond Church Fantasia), Arethusa, Jesus, höchster Name, El Escorial, Scarborough Fair, East-West-East, Funky ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Concert Band

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Today this famous song from Scotland is generally attributed to Robert Burns (1739-1796) although the exact extent of his responsibility for the words and the music has always been controversial. However, it is generally agreed that he was not the ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Crith Mhonadh

MVSR2656

Alfred Boesendorfer invites us on a journey to Scotland, more precisely to Crimond, a village near the Scottish Northeast coast. The local church reveals a striking offset: The clock, bearing the words “The hour’s coming”, has an additional minute ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Michael Korb always did like pipe music. Coming to Berlin after finishing school in 1975, he took lessons with the pipe major of a Scottish batallion. When the Scots left, so did Michael Korb. He moved to Edinburgh, where he had daily lessons with ...

Info
Heinz Briegel / Traditional / Heinz Briegel Concert Band, Choir TTBB

Parade of Glory

MVSR2834

Scotland the Brave is one of the most famous bagpipe melodies and can been regarded as one of the three inofficial Scottish national anthems. It was even used as anthem with soccer world championships or the Commonwalth Games. Heinz Briegel ...

Info
Brendan Graham / Rolf Lovland / Heinz Briegel Concert Band

You Raise Me Up

MVSR2909

This lovely melody became famous because of the singer Josh Groban and the group Westlife who did their own versions of the song. "You raise me up" invites you to a musical dreamworld. Heinz Briegel kept his arrangement very close to the ...

Info

Scarborough Fair

Blasorchester

Scarborough Fair

English Ballad for Band

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk, Ballade, Volkslied, Lied, Folklore
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittelstufe
Spielzeit:
00:03:35
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2940
Erscheinungsdatum:
2014

Info

Der deutsche Komponist und Arrangeur Heinz Briegel hat den traditionellen englischen Folksong „Scarborough Fair“ ganz wunderbar für Blasorchester bearbeitet. Die eigentlich recht dunkle und tragische Stimmung des Liedes kommt sehr gut zur Geltung – schließlich handelt es sich um die Geschichte eines verlassenen jungen Mannes, der dem Zuhörer aufträgt, seiner früheren Liebe einige unmögliche Aufgaben zu stellen. So soll sie zum Beispiel ein Hemd ohne Saum für ihren Liebsten nähen und dieses in einer trockenen Quelle waschen, bevor er sie wieder zurück nimmt. Die einstige Geliebte stellt dem jungen Mann im Gegenzug ebenfalls eine Reihe unmöglicher Aufgaben und verspricht ihm das besagte Hemd, wenn er diese Aufgaben erfüllen kann. Heinz Briegel malt diese Geschichte in dunklen Klangfarben aus, die weltbekannte Melodie kann ihre tragische Schönheit in ergreifenden Bläserklängen entfalten und verklingt schließlich leise in der Ferne – wie die verlorene Hoffnung auf ein glückliches Ende für die beiden einst Verliebten.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

60,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

Westcoast

MVSR095-2

New Festival Music, Westcoast Concerto (for Piano & Band), Aria d'Amore, Die Gedanken ... Spiele, Lead Me Home, Crith Mhonadh (Crimond Church Fantasia), Arethusa, Jesus, höchster Name, El Escorial, Scarborough Fair, East-West-East, Funky ...

Info
Simon Felder / Traditional / Simon Felder Blasorchester

Auld Lang Syne

MVSR2324

Dieses berühmte Lied aus Schottland wird heute allgemein Robert Burns (1739-1796) zugeschrieben, obgleich das Ausmaß seiner Urheberschaft lange Zeit fraglich war. Heute geht man davon aus, dass die erste Strophe des Liedes nicht von ihm stammt. Der ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Crith Mhonadh

MVSR2656

Alfred Bösendorfer führt uns in seiner Komposition nach Schottland, genauer gesagt nach Crimond, einem Dorf nahe der Küste im schottischen Nordosten. Die dortige Kirche weist eine Besonderheit auf: Ihre Uhr, die den Schriftzug „Die Stunde wird ...

Info
Michael Korb / Uli Roever / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Highland Cathedral

MVSR2124

Eine Vorliebe für Dudelsackmusik hatte Michael Korb schon immer. Als er nach Abschluss der Schule 1975 nach Berlin kam, nahm er gleich bei dem "Pipe Major" eines schottischen Bataillons Unterricht auf dem ungewöhnlichen Instrument. Als die Schotten ...

Info
Heinz Briegel / Traditional / Heinz Briegel Blasorchester, Chor TTBB

Parade of Glory

MVSR2834

Scotland the Brave gehört zu den bekanntesten Bagpipe (Dudelsack) Melodien und ist eine der drei inoffiziellen Nationalhymnen Schottlands. Die Melodie wurde auch als schottische Nationalhymne bei Fußball-Weltmeisterschaften oder den Commonwalth ...

Info
Brendan Graham / Rolf Lovland / Heinz Briegel Blasorchester

You Raise Me Up

MVSR2909

Mit dieser bezaubernden Melodie, bekannt durch den jungen, talentierten Sänger Josh Groban und die Gruppe Westlife werden Sie Ihre Musiker und Ihr Publikum gleichermaßen in eine träumerische, musikalische Welt entführen. Das Arrangement für ...

Info