Dance Variants

Concert Band

Dance Variants

for Symphonic Winds
op. 146

Composer:
Genre:
Concert Piece
Grade Level:
Höchststufe
Performance time:
00:10:05
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2965
Release Date:
2017

Info

“Dance Variants” op. 146 was a commission to celebrate the fortieth anniversary of the Honolulu Wind Symphony (Hawaii). James Barnes wrote a composition that combines an overall A-B-A structure in variation form. The work opens with a short fanfare before moving to the dance-like first theme of the work, the majority of which is in rather unusual 7/8. This first statement is then re-scored and developed in several variants before the music slows down to a calm, more romantic middle theme. The lively first “dance theme” then reappears in several more variants, leading to a short, fast coda.

You might like to consider ...

170,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Das Musikkorps der Bundeswehr / Christoph Scheibling CD (Compact Disc)

Maskarade

MVSR108-2

Vita Pro Musica - Maskerade - Prayer and Jubilation - Joss Fritz - Dance Variants - Israeli Folk Songs - Schweizer Mosaik - Pomp & Circumstance No. 4 - Prager Burg - Carrickfergus Posy - Polka Italienne - Adelhausener Impressionen - Lignum - Stets ...

Info
James Barnes Concert Band

Alpine Holiday

MVSR2675

Commissioned by the “Bernischer Kantonal-Musikverband“ (Berne County Band Music Association, Switzerland) as the required test piece for their 2014 wind band competition, Alpine Holiday is a large overture for wind orchestra. The work ...

Info
James Barnes Concert Band

Bayerisches Osterfest

MVSR2695

“Bayerisches Osterfest” (Bavarian Easter Festival) was commissioned by the Bishop Ireton High School Band, the band of a private Catholic school in Virginia, USA. The band’s conductor, Randall Eyles, is an old friend of mine. I first ...

Info
James Barnes Concert Band

Threnody

MVSR3405

I wrote “Threnody” in memory of an old friend of mine, saxophonist Thomas Liley. We knew each other since high school. We were in university together and even played in the same dance band. He later played in the US Navy Band for four years. ...

Info
James Barnes Concert Band

Fantasy Variations

SMC612

James Barnes composed an impressive piece on a theme of Niccolo Paganini (1782 - 1840), who was one of the greatest virtuoso violinists of all time. Stated at the beginning of the work, the theme undergoes a score of variations as instrument ...

Info

Dance Variants

Blasorchester

Dance Variants

for Symphonic Winds

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Höchststufe
Spielzeit:
00:10:05
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2965
Erscheinungsdatum:
2017

Info

James Barnes komponierte seine „Dance Variants“ op. 146 anlässlich des 40-jährigen Jubiläums der Honolulu Wind Symphony auf Hawaii. Das Werk kombiniert die beiden Kompositionsformen der typischen A-B-A- Struktur und der Variationen. Zu Beginn erklingt eine kurze Fanfare, die zur Präsentation des ersten, tanzartigen Themas des Werkes überleitet. Der Großteil der Komposition ist in dem eher ungewöhnlichen Metrum des 7/8 Taktes gehalten. Das Thema wird dann in verschiedenen Variationen verarbeitet, bevor die Musik sich beruhigt und in einen langsamen, eher romantischen Mittelteil übergeht. Daran anschließend erklingt das lebendige Tanz-Thema des Anfangs in weiteren Variationen, die schlussendlich zu einer kurzen, rasanten Coda führen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

170,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Das Musikkorps der Bundeswehr / Christoph Scheibling CD (Compact Disc)

Maskarade

MVSR108-2

Vita Pro Musica - Maskerade - Prayer and Jubilation - Joss Fritz - Dance Variants - Israeli Folk Songs - Schweizer Mosaik - Pomp & Circumstance No. 4 - Prager Burg - Carrickfergus Posy - Polka Italienne - Adelhausener Impressionen - Lignum - Stets treu! ...

Info
James Barnes Blasorchester

Alpine Holiday

MVSR2675

„Alpine Holiday“ ist eine große Ouvertüre für Blasorchester, die vom Bernischen Kantonal-Musikverband (Schweiz) als Aufgabestück 1.Klasse für den Wettbewerb im Jahr 2014 in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Die Komposition beginnt mit einem erweiterten ...

Info
James Barnes Blasorchester

Bayerisches Osterfest

MVSR2695

„Bayerisches Osterfest” (Bavarian Easter Festival) ist eine Auftragskomposition für die Bishop Ireton High School Band, das Blasorchester einer katholischen Privatschule in Virginia (USA). Der Orchesterleiter Randall Eyles ist ein langjähriger ...

Info
James Barnes Blasorchester

Threnody

MVSR3405

Ich schrieb „Threnody“ (Klagelied) in Erinnerung an einen guten alten Freund, den Saxophonisten Thomas Liley. Wir kannten uns seit der Schulzeit, waren gemeinsam an der Universität und haben sogar in der gleichen Tanzband gespielt. Später spielte ...

Info
James Barnes Blasorchester

Fantasy Variations

SMC612

James Barnes hat ein eindrucksvolles Werk über ein Thema von Niccolo Paganini (1782 - 1840), einem der bedeutendsten Geigenvirtuosen aller Zeiten, komponiert. Die 20 Variationen reichen von kraftvollen Tutti-Passagen über kleinere Ensemble ...

Info