Crith Mhonadh

Concert Band

Crith Mhonadh

Crimond Church Fantasia

Genre:
Concert Piece, Sacred Music, Fantasia, Rhapsody
Grade Level:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:06:30
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Condensed Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR2656
Release Date:
2013

Info

Alfred Boesendorfer invites us on a journey to Scotland, more precisely to Crimond, a village near the Scottish Northeast coast. The local church reveals a striking offset: The clock, bearing the words “The hour’s coming”, has an additional minute between the digits 11 and 12, so one hour consists of 61 minutes. “Crimond” also is the title of an old Scottish hymn, written in 1872 by Jessie Seymore Irvine, the daughter of the parish minister. Her melody is one of the most famous settings for the words of Psalm 23 “The Lord’s My Shepherd”. The touching melody written by the young woman and the rough beauty of her homeland inspired Alfred Boesendorfer to compose his “Crimond Church Fantasia”. Six musical scenes lead us through Northeast Scotland.

1. Crimond Land:
The festive introduction reminiscent of English courtly music symbolizes Scotland’s membership in the British Empire.

2. Reel:
A fast Celtic dance in 6/8 time points to the very old Scottish traditions.

3. Pastorale:
A short, calm transition to the following

4. Choral:
Boesendorfer develops the beautiful hymn as a touching choral, from the lower parts to a bright tutti sound.

5. Ceremonial March:
Marching drum sounds and a trumpet solo introduce this celebratory march. Its playful melody spreads all over the band and is accompanied by vigorous bass parts and trumpet calls.

6. Epilogo Religioso: The soft theme of the world-famous Crimond hymn resounds as a solemn and devout finale.

You might like to consider ...

120,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

Westcoast

MVSR095-2

New Festival Music, Westcoast Concerto (for Piano & Band), Aria d'Amore, Die Gedanken ... Spiele, Lead Me Home, Crith Mhonadh (Crimond Church Fantasia), Arethusa, Jesus, höchster Name, El Escorial, Scarborough Fair, East-West-East, Funky ...

Info
Johann Sebastian Bach / Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel / Siegfried Rundel Concert Band

Bist Du bei mir

MVSR2540

The universal genius Johann Sebastian Bach ist still arousing admiration today and there is no composer, no musician that could get around his legacy. There is no composer whose works have been understood and interpreted so differentially and have ...

Info
Thiemo Kraas Concert Band

Crossbreed

MVSR2962

I composed “Crossbreed” as a commission for the Ellwangen youth band and its conductor Wendelin Dauser honoring the 1250th anniversary of the town Ellwangen. I tried to learn a lot about the town and talked to many culturally knowledgeable ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Concert Band

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670

The composition EVENTIDE FALL is based upon the hymn “Abide With Me”, consisting of the text by Scottish poet Henry Francis Lyte, written in 1847, which is typically sung to the melody “Eventide” by English composer William Henry Monk. The hymn ...

Info

Crith Mhonadh

Blasorchester

Crith Mhonadh

Crimond Church Fantasia

Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk, Sakrale Musik, Fantasie, Rhapsodie
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Mittel-/Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:06:30
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Direktion + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR2656
Erscheinungsdatum:
2013

Info

Alfred Bösendorfer führt uns in seiner Komposition nach Schottland, genauer gesagt nach Crimond, einem Dorf nahe der Küste im schottischen Nordosten. Die dortige Kirche weist eine Besonderheit auf: Ihre Uhr, die den Schriftzug „Die Stunde wird kommen“ trägt, hat zwischen den Ziffern 11 und 12 eine zusätzliche Minute, sodass eine Stunde 61 Minuten dauert. „Crimond“ ist auch der Titel eines alten schottischen Kirchenliedes, das 1872 von Jessie Seymore Irvine, der Tochter des Gemeindepfarrers in Crimond, komponiert wurde. Ihre Melodie ist eine der bekanntesten Vertonungen für den Psalm 23 „The Lord’s My Shepherd“ (Der Herr ist mein Hirte). Die ergreifende Melodie der jungen Pfarrerstochter und die raue Schönheit ihrer Heimat inspirierten Alfred Bösedorfer zu seiner „Crimond Church Fantasia“. In sechs musikalischen Bildern nimmt er uns mit auf eine Reise in das nordöstliche Schottland.

1. Crimond Land:
Die feierliche Einleitung symbolisiert mit ihren Anklängen an die höfische Musik Englands die Zugehörigkeit Schottlands zum Britischen Königreich.

2. Reel:
Der schnelle keltische Tanz im 6/8 Takt verweist auf die uralten Traditionen Schottlands.

3. Pastorale:
Eine kurze, ruhige Überleitung zum folgenden

4. Choral:
Hier entwickelt Bösendorfer das wunderschöne Kirchenlied als ergreifenden Choral aus den tieferen Stimmen zu einem strahlenden Tutti-Klang.

5. Ceremonial March:
Mit Trommelklängen und einem Trompetensolo beginnt der feierliche Marsch, dessen verspielte Melodie sich immer weiter im Orchester verbreitet und von energischen Bass-Stimmen sowie Signalen in den hohen Blechbläsern begleitet wird.

6. Epilogo Religioso:
Als andächtiges und erhabenes Finale erklingt nochmals das sanfte Thema des weltbekannten Kirchenliedes von Crimond.

- Pflichtstück der Mittelstufe (Kategorie 3) für 2014/2015 in Bayern -

3. Klasse Harmonie -> Wettstückliste SBV (Schweizer Blasmusikverband)

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

120,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

The Washington Winds / Edward Petersen CD (Compact Disc)

Westcoast

MVSR095-2

New Festival Music, Westcoast Concerto (for Piano & Band), Aria d'Amore, Die Gedanken ... Spiele, Lead Me Home, Crith Mhonadh (Crimond Church Fantasia), Arethusa, Jesus, höchster Name, El Escorial, Scarborough Fair, East-West-East, Funky ...

Info
Johann Sebastian Bach / Siegfried Rundel Blasorchester

Bist du bei mir

MVSR2540

Noch heute erfüllt Johann Sebastian Bach als musikalisches Universalgenie die Musikwelt mit andächtiger Bewunderung. Und auch heute noch kommt kein Komponist, kein Interpret am künstlerischen Vermächtnis dieses Meisters vorbei. Von keinem anderen ...

Info
Thiemo Kraas Blasorchester

Crossbreed

MVSR2962

Ich komponierte „Crossbreed“ als Auftrag zum 1250-jährigen Jubiläum der Stadt Ellwangen für das Jugendblasorchester Ellwangen mit seinem Dirigenten Herrn Wendelin Dauser. Nach sehr intensiver Beschäftigung mit der Stadt und nach zahlreichen ...

Info
Alfred Bösendorfer Blasorchester

Eventide Fall

MVSR1670

Der Komposition Eventide-Fall (Das Eintreten der Dämmerung) liegt das Kirchenlied „Abide with me“ (Bleibe bei mir, Herr) zugrunde. Dieses verbindet den gleichnamigen Text des schottischen Dichters Henry Francis Lyte aus dem Jahr 1847 mit der ...

Info