Carrickfergus Posy

Concert Band

Carrickfergus Posy

Symphonic Tone Poem
Sinfonische Tondichtung

Genre:
Concert Piece
Grade Level:
Oberstufe
Performance time:
00:08:10
Publisher:
Rundel
Size:
DIN A4
Info:
Full Score + Parts
Order Number:
MVSR3435
Release Date:
2017

Info

The beautiful and haunting Irish folk song “Carrickfergus” was almost lost and forgotten to the ages, had it not been for the Irish-born actor Peter O’Toole, who sang the song to his friend, recording artist Dominic Behan. He made a studio recording of the song in the mid- 1960s. Since then, the song’s popularity has exploded, and it has been recorded by dozens of recording artists over the past several decades. The Australian-born composer Percy Aldridge Grainger, who migrated to London, and later to the United States, built an iconic career around his masterful arrangements and settings of well-known European, mainly British, folk songs. Had Grainger not passed away in 1961, prior to the revival of “Carrickfergus”, he may very well have chosen it as the subject of yet another masterwork for Wind Band. Percy Grainger loved to arrange songs containing lyrics and story lines of a tragic nature, the tone and flavor of which he would incorporate into his works. “Carrickfergus” would have fit that mold perfectly, as its lyrics tell the tragic tale of an old and sickly man who wants only to be able to return to his beloved home town of Carrickfergus to die, but cannot. In an effort to both pay tribute to Percy Grainger, and to create a symphonic setting of this timeless folk ballad in a manner similar to what he might have written himself, I present “Carrickfergus Posy”, a Symphonic Tone Poem for Wind Band, composed in the style of the immortal Percy Aldridge Grainger.

James L. Hosay

You might like to consider ...

120,00 €
Add to Wishlist Listen Read Listen & Read Print Share
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

See also

Das Musikkorps der Bundeswehr / Christoph Scheibling CD (Compact Disc)

Maskarade

MVSR108-2

Vita Pro Musica - Maskerade - Prayer and Jubilation - Joss Fritz - Dance Variants - Israeli Folk Songs - Schweizer Mosaik - Pomp & Circumstance No. 4 - Prager Burg - Carrickfergus Posy - Polka Italienne - Adelhausener Impressionen - Lignum - Stets ...

Info
James L. Hosay Concert Band

Highlander Legacy

MVSR2964

This work was commissioned by the Dexter Community Band, in Dexter, Michigan, and is dedicated to the memory of their founder, David L. Angus. It is a Theme and Variations style piece based on the Scottish folk song „Comin’ Thro’ The ...

Info
Markus Götz Concert Band

Irish Castle

MVSR2633

“Irish Castle“ sounds like music of Irish mythology. The music actually stands alone, but you can also imagine the following scenario while listening to or playing the piece: On the tower of an old Irish castle there stands the lord ...

Info
Heinz Briegel Concert Band

Scarborough Fair

MVSR2940

German composer and arranger Heinz Briegel created a wonderful concert band version of the traditional English folk song “Scarborough Fair”. He brings to bear the rather dark and tragic atmosphere of the song – after all it is the story of an ...

Info
Kees Vlak Concert Band

The Castle of Bray

MVSR1781

The Castle of Bray is locatet in the North of France and was the residence of the English King’s governor. Those governors were called “vicar”, they were clerics, dukes, counts or aristocrats. They reigned like autonomous princes with a huge reach ...

Info

Carrickfergus Posy

Blasorchester

Carrickfergus Posy

Symphonic Tone Poem

Komponist:
Musikrichtung:
Konzertwerk
Schwierigkeitsgrad:
Oberstufe
Spielzeit:
00:08:10
Verlag:
Rundel
Format:
DIN A4
Umfang:
Partitur + Stimmen
Bestellnummer:
MVSR3435
Erscheinungsdatum:
2017

Info

Das schöne und eingängige irische Volkslied „Carrickfergus“ wäre beinahe verloren und vergessen gewesen, wenn es der irisch-stämmige Schauspieler Peter O’Toole nicht seinem Freund, dem Musiker Dominic Behan, vorgesungen hätte. Dieser nahm „Carrickfergus“ Mitte der 1960er Jahre in einem Tonstudio auf. Der Folksong wurde daraufhin rasend schnell bekannt und wurde in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten von Dutzenden Künstlern interpretiert. Der in Australien geborene Komponist Percy Aldridge Grainger wanderte erst nach London und später in die Vereinigten Staaten aus. Seine einzigartige Karriere baute er auf seinen meisterhaften Werken auf, die häufig bekannte europäische, überwiegend britische Volkslieder zur Grundlage hatten. Wäre Grainger nicht 1961, also vor der Wiederentdeckung von „Carrickfergus“ gestorben, hätte er das Lied höchstwahrscheinlich als Grundlage für ein weiteres seiner Meisterwerke für Blasorchester ausgewählt. Percy Grainger liebte es, Lieder mit eher tragischen Liedtexten zu bearbeiten und diese Stimmung in seine Werke zu übernehmen. „Carrickfergus“ hätte perfekt in dieses Schema gepasst, da es die Geschichte eines alten und kranken Mannes erzählt, der in seine Heimatstadt Carrickfergus zurückkehren möchte, um dort zu sterben – doch er kann nicht. Mit dieser sinfonischen Tondichtung „Carrickfergus Posy“ im Stile des unsterblichen Percy Aldridge Grainger wollte ich sowohl diesem einzigartigen Komponisten Tribut zollen als auch eine sinfonische Fassung dieses zeitlosen Volksliedes schaffen, wie Grainger es womöglich selbst gern getan hätte.

James L. Hosay

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren ...

120,00 €
Merken Hören Lesen Hören & Lesen Drucken Empfehlen
Teilen
Klicken Sie hier um die "Teilen-Funktion" zu aktivieren

Siehe auch

Das Musikkorps der Bundeswehr / Christoph Scheibling CD (Compact Disc)

Maskarade

MVSR108-2

Vita Pro Musica - Maskerade - Prayer and Jubilation - Joss Fritz - Dance Variants - Israeli Folk Songs - Schweizer Mosaik - Pomp & Circumstance No. 4 - Prager Burg - Carrickfergus Posy - Polka Italienne - Adelhausener Impressionen - Lignum - Stets treu! ...

Info
James L. Hosay Blasorchester

Highlander Legacy

MVSR2964

Dieses Werk ist eine Auftragskomposition für die Dexter Community Band in Dexter, Michigan (USA) und ist dem Gründer des Orchesters, David L. Angus, gewidmet. Als Thema wird das schottische Volkslied „Comin‘ Thro‘ The Rye“ vorgestellt, das ...

Info
Markus Götz Blasorchester

Irish Castle

MVSR2633

Die Komposition „Irish Castle“ klingt wie die Musik zu einer alten irischen Sage. Obwohl die Musik eigentlich für sich selbst steht, kann man sich auch folgende Geschichte dazu vorstellen: In einer alten, ehrwürdigen Burg in Irland steht der ...

Info
Heinz Briegel Blasorchester

Scarborough Fair

MVSR2940

Der deutsche Komponist und Arrangeur Heinz Briegel hat den traditionellen englischen Folksong „Scarborough Fair“ ganz wunderbar für Blasorchester bearbeitet. Die eigentlich recht dunkle und tragische Stimmung des Liedes kommt sehr gut zur Geltung – ...

Info
Kees Vlak Blasorchester

The Castle of Bray

MVSR1781

Schloss Bray, im Norden Frankreichs gelegen, war vor Jahrhunderten die Residenz des Statthalters des englischen Königs. Diese Statthalter bezeichneten sich als Vikar und waren geistliche Herren, Herzöge, Grafen oder Edelleute. Sie regierten wie ...

Info